We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breezy Terrace View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's at the Cove

George's at the Cove
1250 Prospect St, Ste 110, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3618
+1 858-454-4244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George's at the Cove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,270 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ivanhoe
Description: One renowned name. One dazzling ocean view. Three levels of inspired dining experiences. All yours to be savored at George's at the Cove in La Jolla, California. If you want a fine dining experience unlike any other, a special evening awaits at California Modern, featuring unique California cuisine tasting menus that change daily from one of San Diego's most admired chefs, Trey Foshee. If you're in the mood for a more casual dining experience try the Ocean Terrace, acclaimed as the region's best rooftop dining, or George's Bar, a relaxed setting where indoors and outdoors flow together. Reservations and gift cards are available online.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breezy Terrace View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The only thing I disliked was that it was a 45 min wait to sit SOLO on the upstairs terrace...so I chose to go to the main level and have lunch.

The special was a halibut ceviche. OMG delish. It was served with tortilla chips, and I ate it for lunch with a side salad. It was a lot of food, and I wasn't able to finish both...but I wish I wouldn't have ordered the salad!

It was a special, so I think it is only there when Halibut is in season (*so the waitress said).

The view here is spectacular and the terrace is the place to be! Next time, I think that 45 min will be worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    272
    95
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious Food, incredible Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place is ALWAYS busy ! I have been a few times and have always had to wait 5 mins for a table. The place is always buzzing with a vibrant energy, it is a really fun place to come for lunch. The rooftop terrace has glass walls and views out to the Ocean. It is beautiful!!

The food has always been delicious. I think the prices are great, a little over $10 for a good lunch. The fries are yummy !! ANd great salads and sandwiches. The menu has character and the food is always fresh and very tasty. I have never been disappointed.

You can also sit at the bar for drinks and cocktails, enjoying the view of the Ocean.

Great place, and always worth the wait at the door !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I would've given this review top ratings if it wasn't for the pretentious hostess at the front door. While we had reservations, we were still asked to wait for a while after our reservation time, and couldn't help but catch the attitude she was giving to many of the other customers. Other than her, the food was delicious. Try the Cuban. Unless you are sitting against the glass it's not easy to see the ocean. Wait staff was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MUST GO !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for my birthday dinner. AMAZING views and food!! Get the famous soup, hummus, and fish tacos!! Also check out the sea lions on the rocks out back!! Get reservations!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Table with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

After travelling 6 hours cross country we were famished but decided to wait 30 minutes for an outdoor table. The wait was worth it...we had the fish tacos and shrimp tacos. I preferred the shrimp. Service was excellent, views of the cove.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's at the Cove also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to George's at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's at the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.