We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in La Jolla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George's at the Cove

George's at the Cove
1250 Prospect St, Ste 110, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3618
+1 858-454-4244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
George's at the Cove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ivanhoe
Description: One renowned name. One dazzling ocean view. Three levels of inspired dining experiences. All yours to be savored at George's at the Cove in La Jolla, California. If you want a fine dining experience unlike any other, a special evening awaits at California Modern, featuring unique California cuisine tasting menus that change daily from one of San Diego's most admired chefs, Trey Foshee. If you're in the mood for a more casual dining experience try the Ocean Terrace, acclaimed as the region's best rooftop dining, or George's Bar, a relaxed setting where indoors and outdoors flow together. Reservations and gift cards are available online.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfection in La Jolla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I cannot visit San Diego without a trip to the La Jolla Cove and a meal at George's. The restaurant is still going strong. Dinner at George's California Modern cannot be beat. Everything on the menu sounds divine, but we opted for the chef's tasting so we could sample a wide variety. We were not disappointed. More casual fare is available upstairs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    295
    96
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner at Sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We dined on the roof as the sun set on the Pacific, with good friends, great food, great wine and excellent service. Our waitress was fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“California/Mediterranean dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had lunch at George's Ocean Terrace (rooftop). The food was healthy and excellent. For the view, ambiance, and taste it was an excellent value. Our son & daughter-in-law introduced us to this place. They live nearby and have been here several times. FYI, the Ocean View Terrace (rooftop) is more casual and less costly than the George's downstairs (the bar and California Modern). So when you make reservations, I recommend you request the rooftop unless you want a more formal indoor setting and you are willing to pay more for it. Most of the rooftop tables have umbrellas and there are several propane-fired infrared heaters to take the chill off if needed in the evening. You'll be able to see and hear the sea lions barking below and watch swimmers and kayakers in the cove. This is a memorable experience - you might want to bring a camera.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Amazing View, OK Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

George's has an absolutely superb location with a gorgeous view over the ocean...sunset was awesome. Our food was OK, but nothing special. The sauce that accompanied the sesame crusted tuna was a bit overpowering (and too much) and drowned out the flavour of the bok choy and oyster mushrooms. The garlic roasted shrimp were a tad rubbery but the chickpea/chorizo side was nice. We shared a yummy warm chocolate cake. Our waitress was excellent.
I'd come back for a drink to enjoy the beautiful view, but will try some place different for food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Been there for a late lunch with my family. The food is nice and fresh, but not the cheapest. The view you have while eating is incredible! That alone is a reason to go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed George's at the Cove also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to George's at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's at the Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.