We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tapenade Restaurant

Tapenade Restaurant
7612 Fay Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4841
858-551-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapenade Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pearl Street and Kline Street
Transit: Torrey Pines Road at Virginia Way
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The service was impeccable, however, the food was just O.K. I'm sorry, but really nothing special. We were looking for much more than we received, but still glad we tried dining at Tapenade. Nice ambience, and again, great service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    25
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Tapenade has always been one of our favorite 'Happy Hour' destinations whenever we are in La Jolla.. Our most recent visit was underwhelming to say the least. For starters we ordered our usual Escargot and Ravioli dishes and they both arrived bubbling and frothy from being over cooked (suspect they were nuked) The Escargot were spongy and bland, the Ravioli literally fell apart has I attempted to remove it from the boiling cauldron....The server was very apologetic, but by then we elected settle the check and leave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“La Jolla Restaurant Week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I returned to Tapenade for restaurant week. It is one of the best La Jolla restaurants. During this week it was $40.00 per person for three courses. My husband had a delicious boar pâté which was difficult to eat since it was served in a small lidded glass jar. The gravlax was excellent, beautifully presented. An entree of cassoulet was filling for a unusually cold evening but perhaps it was a little too heavy on beans. Dessert of rum baba was a little overcooked but pleasant . The bill came to $153.00 before tip. This included four glasses of wine and coffee. The wine was excellent, the restaurant was very busy, we had an early seating but tables left empty were soon filled. The service was without pretention. Parking was on the road or along the side in a car park.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“French as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Consistently excellent place to eat. Food offerings are interesting, and menu is varied. Service is equally excellent and it is quiet enough to talk with friends or business associates. There are not many French restaurants around any more and few fine ones. The food here tastes healthful, meals are balanced and it is just a nice place to go for a lovely lunch or dinner. One of our two favorite places to eat in SD.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent food, nice selections, good wine list, very attentive waiter. The only negatives -- difficult parking (no valet), but, this is common in La Jolla and given the quality of the restaurant its too bad it is not located in a place with a great view (like many other La Jolla restaurants). But, then again this could be why the food is so great! Can't miss for a nice dinner

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapenade Restaurant also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Tapenade Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapenade Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.