We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Spot for Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Coffee Shop

Harry's Coffee Shop
7545 Girard Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-5102
858-454-7381
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 72 Coffee & Tea in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Popular Spot for Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Was attracted to this restaurant for lunch due to the line of what appeared to be locals waiting for tables. Had tomato soup (odd color) and Reuben, but did not finish either as they tasted "different", not anything nasty, just not to our liking. Service was good, but would order something more like breakfast next time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    53
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“This 5 star rating is for the breakfast...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you are looking for a good breakfast, this is the place. It is so nice to walk into a diner that actually smells like a top-notch breakfast place. My husband and I observed that this is where the locals meet. The breakfast food is authentic and purely American. The Mediterranean omelet is excellent and large enough to share. It is served with crisp hash browns and bread of your choice. My husband and I split the order and he ordered Harry’s Nutty Pecan-Banana Waffle, which we also split. The waitress was so pleasant and when she brought the plates to the booth, she had the order already split for us, which was very much appreciated. It was so good that we ate the next three mornings at Harry’s.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A 1960's Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A great place for tourists and locals alike! Old fashioned dinner food for breakfast and lunch. A big menu and platy of parking in back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love Harry's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

How can you not love Harry's? The food is great and the price is a wonderful surprise for the pocketbook:) I love being able to able to sit on the patio and watch the town. The experience is laid back and the service is friendly and attentive. Harry's is a MUST!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Mmmm..Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Breakfast was very good. Enjoyed the Mediterranean omelette, hashbrowns, and a Huge cafe mocha! Both the food and service was GREAT! The omelette was enough for two people!! I will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Coffee Shop also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Harry's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.