We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan of La Jolla

Manhattan of La Jolla
7766 Fay Ave., Empress Hotel, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-459-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan of La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $24 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Silverado Street
Description: Manhattan of La Jolla transports you to the best of New York via the cozy, upscale village of La Jolla. Located in the Empress Hotel on Fay Avenue, it is an elegant, casual and classy place where you would expect to see Old Blue Eyes or Danny Ocean romancing a beautiful woman while she sips her Cosmo over dinner. With quality Italian charm, Manhattan offers classic cocktails that get you into that New York swing--and the entrees are as good as it gets. Liberal olive oil, garlic, lemon and pepper complement the Zagat Award winning veal chop, steaks and seafood. Signature scampi, classic cannelloni, pasta al dente, and other succulent dishes, plus professional service and decor make this a terrific spot for a romantic dinner or mixing business and pleasure. Manhattan in La Jolla gets you the best of both worlds. Manhattan is an award winning La Jolla favorite, celebrating its 25th year.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an early dinner and were impressed with the reserved, old world decor of this restaurant as well as the exquisite service. The food was very good but there is an over abundance of garlic in most of the food - and we are garlic lovers. All in all, I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review. I’m thrilled your experience was a positive one and I look forward to seeing you back at Manhattan of La Jolla the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    23
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meal to top off a great weekend in SD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My bf and I were hoping to find a good Italian restaurant while in la jolla and were very happy we found this one. The service was great and they really made us feel like VIPs. The food was great all the way around and had a nice wine menu. My bf fell in love with the filet mignon. For dessert I had the cannelloni which was to die for. A lil pricy but totes worth it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you for the kind words Lauren! We are thrilled to hear that your experience with us was a very positive one. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best Filet Mignon and Service in La Jolla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I read about this place on the internet. The food was excellent in preparation and beautifully delivered. They used lots of garlic, which I love! I totally enjoyed my eggplant rattatoni. So delicious. My husband had the Filet Mignon that he shared with me. The prices are worth every penny. It's dark in there, very romantice. Lots of senior citiens, but who cares. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Hi Ana, thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed the filet mignon and the eggplant rollatini. Next time you are in town make sure to try the cannelloni and our Zagat Award winning veal chop. We are sure you will love it! Looking forward to seeing you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“We Added this Restaurant to Our Favorites List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Last Saturday night was our third or fourth visit. This is a top-notch, friendly, very well-run restaurant with excellent food. The décor is outstanding, low lighting, lovely paintings on the walls and a nice piano bar. We split the Veal Piccata which was delicious. We also split the grandiose banana vanilla ice cream sundae which was yummy. Service was exemplary. It is clear that this restaurant has a lot of regular patrons, which is a very positive sign. Although it is not close to where we live we plan to visit as often as possible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review and continuous support. We are very fortunate to have customers like you and your wife. Looking forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had an incredible family celebration at Manhattan! From the minute we entered the treatment was first rate and the service exceptional. Nothing was spared in making our experience as enjoyable as possible! The food was outstanding and well worth the cost, with every course enjoyed as our party of 9 (including kids - who were served with extra attention) had a range of food that was thoroughly devoured! We contemplated going a second time if we felt we didn't jinx this experience and not live up to to our incredible first outing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Johnny, we are thrilled to hear you had an incredible experience when visiting Manhattan of La Jolla. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan of La Jolla also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Manhattan of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.