We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan of La Jolla

Manhattan of La Jolla
7766 Fay Ave., Empress Hotel, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-459-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Manhattan of La Jolla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,072 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Silverado Street
Description: Manhattan of La Jolla transports you to the best of New York via the cozy, upscale village of La Jolla. Located in the Empress Hotel on Fay Avenue, it is an elegant, casual and classy place where you would expect to see Old Blue Eyes or Danny Ocean romancing a beautiful woman while she sips her Cosmo over dinner. With quality Italian charm, Manhattan offers classic cocktails that get you into that New York swing--and the entrees are as good as it gets. Liberal olive oil, garlic, lemon and pepper complement the Zagat Award winning veal chop, steaks and seafood. Signature scampi, classic cannelloni, pasta al dente, and other succulent dishes, plus professional service and decor make this a terrific spot for a romantic dinner or mixing business and pleasure. Manhattan in La Jolla gets you the best of both worlds. Manhattan is an award winning La Jolla favorite, celebrating its 25th year.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had an incredible family celebration at Manhattan! From the minute we entered the treatment was first rate and the service exceptional. Nothing was spared in making our experience as enjoyable as possible! The food was outstanding and well worth the cost, with every course enjoyed as our party of 9 (including kids - who were served with extra attention) had a range of food that was thoroughly devoured! We contemplated going a second time if we felt we didn't jinx this experience and not live up to to our incredible first outing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Johnny, we are thrilled to hear you had an incredible experience when visiting Manhattan of La Jolla. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    34
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We read the reviews and thought this place would be a good spot for us to enjoy some Italian food whilst in La Jolla. We were wrong. We ordered the carpaccio to start which arrived with grated cheddar instead of Parmesan. The zucchini fritters were good. We all ordered pasta for entrees and it was all very bland. We asked for some grated Parmesan and the waiter left us with a boat of it. It had no taste whatsoever. Felt more like the stuff you get in a canister that lasts forever in your cupboard at home than fresh Parmesan. The service was a little intense with two bus men hovering almost constantly and neither spoke English very well (assume they are Italian?). We ordered two deserts and the waiter told us he wanted us to try the homemade cheesecake as it was so good, we were very thankful to him. It then appeared on our check! Once the meals were complete the intense service went on strike and it took us 15 mins to get our check, there were only three other tables with folks eating, so couldn't be a rush.

The wine menu is decent and has some good value on it.

Overall this place is very old school Italian, dark and honestly incredibly dated. Italian food doesn't have to be bland (it never has been for me) and they don't even have lasagne on the menu.

Avoid this place as it isn't cheap and the food isn't worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was exceptional. We started with a cannelloni and a creamy lobster bisque. We would return just for the cannelloni. The rest of the meal was also very good. The waiters were very knowledgable and helpful with wine selection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Dear Steve,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our lobster bisque and cannelloni and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
“Nice Italian Vibe In La Jolla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I are natives and dined at Manhattan last weekend. We loved the food and the waiters in tuxedos were polished. The best part was the guy singing 80's tunes and the fun dancing. Nice mix of ages and the atmosphere reminded us of the Palm Desert "Nest" (Sinatra
tunes in the happening piano bar). We will be back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review Leslie. We look forward to seeing you again for some more Frank Sinatra tunes soon! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic 40's decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent and waiters were in tuxes. It's was like stepping back in time. Very cool. Guy singing Sinatra songs

Italian with a old NY steakhouse vibe. Very good

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renatadb, Manager at Manhattan of La Jolla, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to write this kind review. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in La Jolla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan of La Jolla also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Manhattan of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.