We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Meals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine-Ten

Nine-Ten
910 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
+1 858-964-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nine-Ten is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,072 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Californian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girard
Description: An ongoing commitment to innovative cuisine using only the freshest local produce makes NINE-TEN a must visit for culinary aficionados. This intimate restaurant, led by chef Jason Knibb and pastry chef Rachel King, offers the perfect combination of sophistication and casual elegance and an ideal location along La Jolla's Prospect Street. Enjoy the best of the harvest from local artisan farmers, where produce is selected daily for the restaurant's Evolving California Cuisine. The bounty of the sea is also featured with local fish selections and items arriving daily from Hawaii and the North Pacific and Atlantic regions. Special prix fixe menus are available and feature matching wines from the extensive wine cellar. Enjoy dining indoors or on the sidewalk patio or ocean-view terrace. A separate bar offers limited menu and happy hour specials daily. Open daily for breakfast and lunch and dinner nightly.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Five of us had dinner here one evening because of a recommendation that the chef could be very accomadating to special diets. One was a vegan and the other many restrictions because of Migraines. They were accomadating and went out of their way to make sure we were all happy. They made changes to ingredients to accomadate our vegan friend and our migraneur. It was delectable. They had a special 3 course meal for $55.00 that was well worth it. Portions were not large, so I could actually eat all three courses. I had the steak and it was so tender and cooked to perfection. I had the Mexican white shrimp as an appetizer. It was wonderfully done and I had a "Chocolate cream with mint ice cream for dessert. It was rich and sinful. I Will go back every time I am in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Director of Food & Beverage at Nine-Ten, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Canddlove: I couldn't be happier to read your review about your recent dinner at NINE-TEN. This is exactly the level of service we strive to provide to all of our guests, especially those who have special dietary needs. I'm also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the 3-course dinner special that we have for $55. It's one of the best ways to sample several items on the menu and at a great value too! (No need to wait for Restaurant Week with this offer, which is available year-round.) Let me know personally the next time you are in town and we'll take even better care of you and your guests. Sincerely, Neal Wasserman, Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    91
    24
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Va
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wrong Name, Right Address”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The restaurant is ranked higher under its official name "Nine-Ten." Located in the Grande Colonial Hotel located at 910 Prospect, it serves farm-to-table, season fresh food. Yum-yum.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Special Occassion a Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great food and service. Location and view perfect. Private dining venue excellent for business meetings.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Director of Food & Beverage at Nine-Ten, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear KDG G -
Happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent dining experience at NINE-TEN. In addition to being a wonderful venue for celebrating a special occasion, we are also perfect for business luncheons and every day dining. I hope you will be back to visit us soon for a personal visit or to celebrate your next special occasion. Let us know when you do! Sincerely, Neal Wasserman, Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had dinner here with co-workers while attending a conference. Aside from a short wait past our reservation time to be seated, the evening was great. We had excellent food and wine with friendly, knowledgeable service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at Nine-Ten, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Random_tangent: Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent experience dining at NINE-TEN. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and that the staff took such good care of you (that is, after you were finally seated). We go to great lengths to ensure that our service is enthusiastic and spirited, while gracious and unassuming. Our staff is exceptionally well trained and educated on the food and preparation methods, as well as wine selections and pairings, and I'm glad that came through during your visit. Hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, Chef Jason Knibb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lunch that hit the spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped for lunch here and it hit the spot perfectly! We shared the Short Rib Panini, truffle fries, and a pear and rocket salad.
Everything fresh, tasty, crisp, and delicious.
Only wish we had the time to have been able to go back for dinner!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeColonial, Executive Chef at Nine-Ten, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Anne: I'm so happy that you stumbled upon NINE-TEN during your recent visit to La Jolla. While you didn't get to fully experience our dinner service and cuisine (on this trip), I'm glad you had the opportunity to try out our lunch. Our Short Rib Panini is one of our most acclaimed lunch items. I hope you will have the chance to come back soon for dinner. Thank you again. Chef Jason Knibb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine-Ten also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Nine-Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine-Ten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.