We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spot

The Spot
1005 Prospect St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4147
(858) 459-0800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 1,072 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is pricey. But all La Jolla is pricey. Very cheap for the village, and the food is huge. Been there once and the staff is very polite. I suggest somewhat fancy attire to be walking in la Jolla.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    85
    32
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good fun, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is great. You can't go wrong. The atmosphere is fun and the location, right in the Village in La Jolla, is perfect. The service can be spotty....forgive the pun. I've had both great and poor service, hit and miss. But, for the most part I wouldn't hesitate recommending The Spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I ate here on St. Patrick's day after a long afternoon of walking around the beach in La Jolla. I got their St. Patty's special, which was corned beef and cabbage. Obviously, this isn't one of their usual meals so I can't really comment on the food outside of what I had, though my girlfriend had the club sandwich I believe and really liked it. The corned beef and cabbage, however, was amazing. It was something I'd go back for every day if I could.

The food was good, beer was good, and the service was good. What more is there to say about a restaurant? There isn't a whole lot of parking right around the restaurant itself that I saw, but I just parked at a meter around the block and walked. That seems like the norm in Southern California though. No biggie.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Overall Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After an exhausting day, my first reaction walking in was "I hope the wait for a table won't be long".

In spite of what appeared to be a "full house", we were seated right away in a neat old fashioned style high backed booth.

Waitstaff was excellent, even though the place was jammed. Guess they're used to it.

Food was great - we thoroughly enjoyed grazing 3 appetizers and a bunch of really well-made Margeritas.

Intended to go there again that week, but we had over-scheduled ourselves. "The Spot" is among our favorite restaurants in La Jolla. Be there again next year. Prices are reasonable, and lots of friendly people.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pingree Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Second time here to eat. 1st time a year ago and now on business. Sat at the bar, friendly bartenders, good penne with shrimp and scallops, garlick bread, nice crowd. They claim Chicago style pizza...I'm from Chicago and won't order it or fear of being disappointed. Bartender said the original "Spot" is in Evanston Il. Best part...walk 3 or 4 doors down to the Gelato shop, get a small cone, walk across the street and down the hill to the park and watch the sunset on the Pacific.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spot also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to The Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.