We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Californian cafe at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's

Cody's
8030 Girard Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-459-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Istanbul
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Californian cafe at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

First of all La Jolla is a great place to stay in San Diego. If you have made that choice, you cannot skip Cody's for its great Californian menu, friendly staff, lovely location. Try the burger or the breakfast salad or French bread or anything on the menu!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    123
    41
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very pleasant spot at La Jolla Cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It is for sure a very nice restaurant to have a fresh and gracious lunch or brunch. The ambiance is the best in it, with a clear view of the La Jolla sea and all the movement from the avenue nearby. The seafood is good, with calamaris, crabs and fish and chips as great options.

The service was OK... I would sure recommend it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Unique (and yummy) breakfast menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had breakfast here with my husband on our last day in La Jolla. We'd passed it a few days prior and judging by the crowds gathered outside knew it must be something good. Their menu serves breakfast and lunch all day, so if you're in the mood for a burger at 8 am you can have one! We sat on the patio, which I think may be one of the best places to sit as there is a great view of the ocean just down the hill. I ordered the breakfast salad which had fresh greens, roasted mushrooms, zucchini and asparagus, two poached eggs and creamy goat cheese. The menu says it was tossed in a lemon-basil vinaigrette- if it was, it was bland, because I didn't really notice it. My husband enjoyed the chilaquiles. The prices were reasonable for the portions served and I can't complain about the service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Breakfast was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I went to Cody's after looking at the reviews. I had blueberry pancakes and an egg. The pancakes were dry and just did not hit the spot. Overall, the environment and the people that worked there did not seem as if they enjoyed being there. We found Harry's up the street and ate there the other 3 days.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

So good we ate there twice. Good food & good service. Would definitely go back again if ever in La Jolla.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.