We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow sooooooo good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's

Cody's
8030 Girard Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-459-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,270 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow sooooooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Ok this place is top notch! has incredible food great sangria and patio is nice. This is the #1 rated place and deserves every 5 star review. JUST GO try the lobster roll trust me!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    107
    40
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Vernia, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing view ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sit outside for the view of the pacific and La Jolla Cove. The food was unique and flavorful. We had the burger, fish tacos and the fish and chips. None were best ever but good food. The fries were a little greasy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best place for breakfast or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Cody's had that small mom & pop feel to it. The food was excellent and the portions were very good. Indoor and outdoor seating is available, the wait can be a bit long. But id rather go to a restaurant that's busy than one that isn't. there's a reason it's busy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Light tempura style battered fish, not one bit greasy. The hand cut fries were crisp and tasty. I wasn't crazy about the coleslaw, it lacked flavor. The tartar and sweet chile sauces were excellent. One order was plenty for the two of us and the kitchen split it nicely between two plates. The omelets served to a table near us looked wonderful! It's a bit tough finding a place to park in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great spot for watching the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I stumbled across this gem while walking around La Jolla.
We received a warm welcome and were asked to choose where we wanted to sit. We chose a great spot outside in the sunshine.
The "bubbly" section of the drinks menu is wonderful. I had a refreshing Lemon and Thyme Spritzer and my partner had a White Wine Sangria. Both were served in what can only be described as jam jars! A really original touch. They were both so refreshing.
We shared a snack of crab cakes which were wonderful.
Great service, nice location, and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.