We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow sooooooo good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's

Cody's
8030 Girard Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
+1 858-459-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,106 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wow sooooooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Ok this place is top notch! has incredible food great sangria and patio is nice. This is the #1 rated place and deserves every 5 star review. JUST GO try the lobster roll trust me!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pjsioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
La Vernia, Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing view ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Sit outside for the view of the pacific and La Jolla Cove. The food was unique and flavorful. We had the burger, fish tacos and the fish and chips. None were best ever but good food. The fries were a little greasy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best place for breakfast or lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cody's had that small mom & pop feel to it. The food was excellent and the portions were very good. Indoor and outdoor seating is available, the wait can be a bit long. But id rather go to a restaurant that's busy than one that isn't. there's a reason it's busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank captE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
281 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Light tempura style battered fish, not one bit greasy. The hand cut fries were crisp and tasty. I wasn't crazy about the coleslaw, it lacked flavor. The tartar and sweet chile sauces were excellent. One order was plenty for the two of us and the kitchen split it nicely between two plates. The omelets served to a table near us looked wonderful! It's a bit tough finding a place to park in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great spot for watching the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I stumbled across this gem while walking around La Jolla.
We received a warm welcome and were asked to choose where we wanted to sit. We chose a great spot outside in the sunshine.
The "bubbly" section of the drinks menu is wonderful. I had a refreshing Lemon and Thyme Spritzer and my partner had a White Wine Sangria. Both were served in what can only be described as jam jars! A really original touch. They were both so refreshing.
We shared a snack of crab cakes which were wonderful.
Great service, nice location, and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing