We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's

Cody's
8030 Girard Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-459-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
38,151 helpful votes 38,151 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's hard to find a hardy breakfast in some areas :o) ha This place served us up a delicious breakfast, complete with Sage Sausage, which was extra mouth watering and I'm not a sausage person at all. I truly enjoyed our service, meals and the sage sausage find (been looking for them on the East Coast, hard to find). We will be returning when we're in the area. Also, good cappuccinos! Be sure to start your day off right. It has a wonderful view, enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    112
    41
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Rappenau, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, bit overhyped and pricey place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Finding parking on a sunday morning is quite a challenge in this area as Cody's is located just next to the famous Childrens Pool in La Jolla. Place was pretty pack during this season sunday but if you do not want to sit outside there was no waiting for a place.

The breaktfast was delicious and especially the awesome french toast is a real eye-catching dish. I enjoyed it very much.

Nevertheless we felt this place is a bit overhyped and pricey. Awesome french toast is $13.95

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best brunch ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you get there, and there's a queue, don't be put off - it's worth the wait. You can sit in the sunshine and admire the view of the beautiful ocean until your table is ready. The food is fantastic. We had crab cakes and our kids had the pancakes. The hot chocolate is made with beautiful bitter quality chocolate, not sweet and sickly as they normally are. Love the way they serve cocktails in little jars with straws. Plus, as your dining, they play a really cool selection of music ranging from Steely Dan to Gary Numan! If you're in La Jolla you'd be mad not to visit here!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food in La Jolla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across Codys and what a find. Fantastic brunch with a great view and a laid back vibe, everything you would expect from One of La Jolla's very best. Veggie Hash was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

You know that moment you're in a great restaurant because you want a bite of everyone's meal as it looks so great. We went for Sunday brunch and my husband had the lobster which he can't stop raving about. Our friends had the crab cakes with eggs benedict also unbelievable. I stupidly had an egg omelette with bacon and avocado which was a bit dry and ordinary. The kids seem to dive into huge stacked cinnamon toast with strawberries which they said were the best they've ever had. The pancakes looked good. Although we had to wait 25 mins to get seated it all turned out well worth it - although a wee bit pricey with 20% service for more than a party of 6. When I complained about this they took it off and reduced it as the kids were sitting on a separate table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.