We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch or lunch right near La Jolla cove” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's

Cody's
8030 Girard Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
+1 858-459-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,070 Restaurants in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great brunch or lunch right near La Jolla cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a great place for brunch or lunch that's right near La Jolla cove. Watch the seals on the beach and then grab some grub. We enjoyed the crab cake beneditct and the mahi mahi tacos. The food is very well prepared and delicious. The outside deck is far superior to the inside tables, but not all of the outside tables have the ocean view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    161
    50
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome menu, terrific location and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I visited this restaurant for lunch last week on vacation. We loved it. The atmosphere was great and the view from the outside patio was gorgeous. The food was very good. The menu selections were interesting and none of the meals we ordered were a disappointment. If I can figure out how, I will post a picture of the view from my seat on the patio.l

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was the Trip Advisor rating of Cody's and decided to try them for lunch. It was a great meal !!! My boyfriend and I both had the lobster roll. I tried to onion rings and he had the fries. Both were equally good. We had made a reservation for 11am, but walked up at 10:30 and they seated us immediately on the patio. I would suggest reservations because its really small place. If I'm ever in La Jolla for lunch again its the first place I'll go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable late lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We called in on a very warm afternoon. Staff were friendly and the location just fine.

We enjoyed all we ate - very tasty indeed. Perhaps a little pricey - but that is La Jolla,

We went back another day, but it was closed. If we were ever in the area again we would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Selected this restaurant as my first stop in the La Jolla. We wanted to have a late breakfast and were happy to learn that they serve breakfast till 3. The French toast and crab Eggs Benedict were superb. The location is small and offers outside seating with beautiful views. It is just a short walk to the ocean and views of the sea life. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The location, food and atmosphere all added to a memorable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.