We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's

Cody's
8030 Girard Ave., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-459-0040
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,266 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“The perfect place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

What an adorable little gem! It was so cute inside and a wonderful spot. I had the bacon and cheddar omelette and my husband had the French Toast...delicious! We are going back for breakfast tomorrow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    109
    40
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Laid back, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on Cody's, a short distance from the cove. I'm a bit of a lobster roll snob. Cody's was among the best!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fish n Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a quaint little place. We had lunch. I ordered the fish n chips as it was rated the best in La Jolla. They were pretty darn good. It looks like they do a good breakfast as well. It's small, somewhat friendly, but most of all the food is really nice. If you are out shopping the boutiques or looking at the art gallaries in La Jolla, I definitely recommend stopping in for a quick meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ocean view patio dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is great. I would highly recommend. Right in the center of downtown La Jolla near the Cove.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific setting, food and service . . . can't ask for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The high ratings are well deserved for this friendly restaurant in a great location. We went on a Saturday around 11 and weren't surprised at the number of people waiting. (I felt rather sorry for the surrounding restaurants that looked a bit like wallflowers in comparison.) I thought the hostess was erring on the side of optimism when she said a table outside would be only a 15 minute wait. Actually, it was quicker. The staff obviously is up to the challenge of not disappointing.
My husband had the hamburger with onion jam and hand-cut fries. No kidding, the fries were obviously hand-cut--unless they make a machine to cut potatoes to look hand-cut! Anyway, he really enjoyed the burger. I had the farmer's omelet and was impressed with the blend of natural flavors and sparing use of salt or other heavy spices. Really good.
Go and enjoy beautiful LaJolla along with great food. You can take a nice walk through the village afterward to work off the calories!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cody's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.