We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roppongi

Roppongi
875 Prospect St, Ste 102, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4264
858-551-5252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roppongi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1,274 restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fay
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good food, lots of tapas to choose from. Dinners are good well, but we usually like to order tapas and share. It can be a little noisy inside, so we prefer the enclosed patio. Valet parking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    76
    55
    23
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hills
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ever changing menu Always Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This locations is actually 3 formats of dining , a cafe , a sushi bar and a dining room. They also have patio dining and will accomodate any need. This is always a stop for us as we travel up and down the coast. The menu is updated reguarly so occasionally a favorite from our previous visit has been replaced by something equally delicious.
The chefs are truly inspired in their creative creations whether using locally sourced vegetables and the freshest local seafood catch. Never been dissapointed and it is a must stop if you are in the La Jolla area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had my birthday here last year and it was great! Great food! The service was fine, everyone was very courteous, though it took a while to be seated and served, as the place was packed! Great sushi, though the sushi portions were small.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neat Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Food was delicious and fun, a little uncomfortable as far as seating was concerned. We ordered sushi and I had a great salad, lobster roll special was the best.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“it's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booths too small for comfort. Went for 1/2 appetizers and was satisfied at that price. Nothing special though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roppongi also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego

Been to Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roppongi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.