We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food in the heart of La Jolla” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen

Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen
7734 Girard Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4446
858-456-0466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 1,261 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in the heart of La Jolla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My colleague and I stumbled on to this fantastic Thai food restaurant in the middle of driving around Girard Ave looking for a parking spot. We happened to land right in front of the open air dining "foyer" of Spice & Rice... so we sat down.

Turned out to be a truly enjoyable dinner with a wide range of spices and flavors. The Green Curry dish was great, we had it w/ tofu, but I'm sure it will hold up w/ any of the other choices of meats. The Phad Thai, a traditional benchmark of Thai comfort food was filled w/ very fresh ingredients!

The Tom Yum Seafood soup is a must have... and get a side of rice to help w/ the wonderful spiciness of the soup!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We weren't too hungry and thought a little Thai would be a great choice, it was! I love spicy food and I'm wise enough to just order medium plus ...great! They had wonderful rice and noodle selections and give the lunch prices into the early evening.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
“Best Thai in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love this place and eat here for lunch every week. For $10 you get an appetizer, soup or small salid and entree. They have the best Pad Thai and Panag Curry in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A weekly fav”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Love that drunken noodle,with a little heat helps clear the nasal passages as well as makes you feel good after a cold.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most amazing Thai food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went here on my own during a business trip. Staff made me feel welcome. Very fast service. When my red curry duck turned up it was delicious. Maybe slightly hotter than how I normally have a medium but just tasted fantastic.

Price was reasonable. Was in and out fairly quickly which I prefer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice & Rice Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.