We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sushi at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi on the Rock

Sushi on the Rock
7734 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858-456-1138
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sushi at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had fresh sushi along with wonderful service. Highly recommend. They extended their happy hour the evening we were there. Nice bargain for La Jolla.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre Japanese American fusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had three appetisers instead of a main as it was approaching happy hour.

The Agedashi Tofu was served dry with the sauce on the side. The presentation was really off; it reminded me of a fondue set or something. The Pot Stickers (gyoza) had been reheated, there were freezer burns on the dumpling skin. The chicken teriyaki skewers tasted odd, like the chicken had been microwaved before broiling.

The whole menu is westernised with several novelty fusion items.

Expensive even with the happy hour discount.

View and service were ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Yum, fresh, ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed fresh sushi, excellent miso soup, and a view of the ocean and park from our table. Known for great sushi in the surrounding neighborhoods, this La Jolla location is worth seeking out. Sit outside for view, inside for sports TV.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I eat a lot of sushi, and sushi on the rock is one my favorite places. Their daily happy hour is insane and all their specialty rolls are excellent. I will be back, staff is super friendly and helpful, especially their sushi chefs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Best sushi I have ever had. You have to try the kitchen sink sushi! It has a beautiful view and a patio you can sit on outside.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi on the Rock also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sushi on the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi on the Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.