We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burgers, Great Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crazee Burger

Crazee Burger
4201 30th St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92104
(619) 282-6024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $9
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good Burgers, Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tioli's used to be a good Italian restaurant, but changed into a burger place several years ago. The burgers are grilled (not fried on a griddle), and there is an interesting selection, from beef and turkey burgers, to kangaroo, buffalo, and other more exotic varieties. Everything is good here, but not outstanding. You order at the counter and they deliver your food to your table.

The happy hour (from 3 to 6 PM) is a great deal, with a limited menu of beers and food offered at very low prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Burger & Brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stopped by here after a basketball game at SDSU and the place was packed. We all had four different burgers with sweet potatoe and regular fries along with a brew on tap. Very extensive beer selection and the burgers were very good. Try the mushroom burger..excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just a burger place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our hotel gave us a restaurant guide and this place was in it. It was featured on the food network and we thought that was a good recommendation. We were however dissapointed. The burgers were pricey and good but not that good. After placing our order the waiter brought it to our table and we never saw him again. No one said a word to us when we left. It seems we were invisable. It isn't someplace we would go again or recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Felt like a cool chic in this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My sons ordered the little mini burgers and they were cooked to perfection. Reeeeely yummy fries and a "tough- biker stylel" environment. I ordered the greek burger like Guy F. on DDD recommended. It was great. A tiny bit out of the way if you are a typical tourist of S.D. like I was but not a long drive at all from Hodads...Went there first and the line was around the block so Crazy burger was my 2nd choice. When I walked in, I felt like I was back living in Venice Beach as the attractive cool chics in there were great and friendly and had the coolest tattoos all over. Treated me and every single customer with loving care.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I eat a KANGAROO BURGER and I **LIKE IT**! From Kangaroo to Veggie, they have it all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The name says it all!

Being bias of course, haven never actually eat Kangaroo or Buffalo burgers in their Native area, i.e. Australia or South Dakota, I was surprised, no astonished, to find myself enjoying such foreign food, to me!!! I EAT A **KANGAROO BURGER** and I **LIKE IT**! Buffalo, that is a different story, but will have to try it again to really have a valid opinion on it. See story below.

If you are looking for another type of meat, don't fret, they have all kinds of CRAZY YUMMY burgers!!!! Ostrich, Wild Board, Gator, Salon, Grab, Venison, Antelope, etc.; and REGULAR BURGERS like Veggie, Turkey, Chicken, etc..

The Buffalo Burger was very lean which is a pro if your dieting, but it was almost tasteless. HOWEVER, my DISAPPOINTED was discovered following lunch after I told the new waitress, who took over our table, my lack of enthusiasm for the taste of the Buffalo Burger. When she discovered that I ordered it WELL DONE, she said, "there lies the problem". Because Buffalo is a lean meat I needed to order it **RARE** to taste more of the flavor. She also disclosed that Luke Wilson had ordered the Buffalo Burger for dieting purposes and enjoyed it rare (para phrasing of course). I definitely will be going back for a second try on that one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazee Burger also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Crazee Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazee Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.