We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfonso's of la Jolla

Alfonso's of la Jolla
1251 Prospect St., La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
619-454-2232
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our first dinner of our stay was a great way to start. The food was delicious, the staff was great and the location was beautiful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    15
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worst service in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Worst service ever.

We sat there for over 30 minutes after being seated before we were even asked if we wanted a drink. I had to go get my own chips and salsa.

The bartender and waiter both walked by me several times and looked right at us without asking if we needed anything. I tried to get their attention as they walked right by looking right at us.

Finally after telling the waiter once and walking to the bar twice we got our drink order.

$42.00 for 2 small margaritas and 2 shots of Cuervo Gold.

We were there in the middle of the day and seated inside about 15 feet from the bar. It was slow and there were only 2 other tables with people eating outside. They were not busy at all.

The waiter finally took our food order and another 50 minutes had gone by. We couldn't find the bartender or the waiter and hadn't seen them in over 20 minutes. They kept disappearing. I looked everywhere for them.

I wrote in big letters on the $42 bill "F U", did not pay and went across the street to George's and had a wonderful lunch.

THANKS FOR THE FREE DRINKS.....YOUR RESTAURANT SUCKS.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Sort of Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ask anybody who lives in La Jolla and Alfonso's is usually described as a tourist trap. Food is mediocre at best though as another reviewer mentioned, the salsa and drinks are good. High caloric content seems to be their substitute answer to good taste and distinctiveness. Service was good.
Puesto on Wall St. seems to be the Mexican restaurant of choice among locals. Next time I'll follow their lead.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Alfonso's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good food in a casual setting, drinks are good, margaritas are soe of the best, service is good also I wouls recommend reserving a table, it can get crowded, desserts are really good too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have eaten here often over the years and it is great every time. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfonso's of la Jolla also viewed

 

Been to Alfonso's of la Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfonso's of la Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.