We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Surf Lesson!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menehune Surf

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Menehune Surf
2216 Avenida De La Playa- Day Classes, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
(858) 551-9510
Website
Improve this listing
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Surf Lesson!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We signed our 8 yr and 10 yr old boys up for surf lessons and they had a great time! The instructor was very prompt to the lesson and knowledgable about surfing. The kids learned a lot and had a fun time. My oldest had so much fun that he wanted to try it again two days later and they were booked up. I would advise planning ahead.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommend Menehune Surf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Outstanding experience with Menehune Surf lessons. Fonzie is an excellent surf instructor. Professional, fun and energetic. Cool experience overall for several days of surf lessons. Reasonably priced, efficient and reliable. Try a private surf lesson with Fonzie, you'll have a blast!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was a Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was in San Diego for a couple of days with two of my sons, 6 and 10. They both wanted to go surfing. I had no idea where to go, so I contacted the Sun Diego store at Mission Beach and they recommended Menehune Surf.

We arrived early for the 90 minute lesson. The staff very patiently found the right size wet suits for the boys and help to get them all kitted out. When we walked the length of the boardwalk to the tent, we were met by Alex who had the surf boards ready for the boys.

The initial phase of the lesson took place on the beach, as Alex gave them some basic information about how to paddle out and stand on the board, and then they spent a full hour in the water.

Alex was very attentive to both boys and shared his time between them as they both became more and more confident on their boards. By the end of the lesson they had both had enough, but thought the whole experience was a blast.

I would highly recommend Menehune Surf to anyone who wants to get a taste of surfing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Did both surfing and kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Did a 1 person 2 hour surf lesson for my 15 year old son on a Sunday morning. Instructor was Richard - young man from Pepperdine college. He was terrific - perfect teach for my son. On Tuesday, 4 of us went on the sea cave kayak tour. Very well done. Knowledgeable guides, felt very safe. Lots of fun. You might take motion sickness medication - one son felt very uncomfortable while waiting for all the participants to go one by one into the cave. Other than that, would highly recommend them for both surfing and kayaking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menehune Surf also viewed

 

Been to Menehune Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menehune Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.