We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is amazing, but food is divine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cusp

Cusp
7955 la Jolla Shores Dr, Hotel La Jolla, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
(858) 551-3620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cusp is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,262 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Torrey Pines
Description: Dining at Cusp is a treat for your senses. Enjoy coastal Mediterranean fare with an emphasis on fresh seafood like grilled salmon crusted in Moroccan spices or albacore roasted to perfection. Rustic flatbreads from our pizza oven and savory sides compliment our fresh pastas and entrées. Try our ocean-fresh ceviche or raw bar while sipping a cocktail made with our housemade infused spirits and fresh juices. Savor Chef Donald’s flavorful dishes, chat with friends, and enjoy the breathtaking views of the Pacific from our 11th floor dining room. Not just for special occasions (but perfect for that, too), Cusp is your neighborhood spot. Stylish and relaxed, Cusp is the place to chill out with your friends while enjoying craft cocktails and creative cuisine—the stellar view is on the house. Daily Happy Hour from 4-7.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“View is amazing, but food is divine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Each course had something delightful and unexpected. It's one of the best meals I've ever had. And in my opinion, was very reasonably priced considering the outstanding quality. The sea bass was amazing.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Cusp, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Jonathan,
"One of the best meals ever"...it's like music to my ears!! I'm so glad your dinner at Cusp was that memorable. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Cheers,
Mark Spears
Cusp General Manager
mark.spears@cusprestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    25
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here 4 times now. We first came into this restaurant on a review of other Trip Advisor members. We loved it so much, we went back for drinks and dinner the next night! Since then, won subsequent trips, we have returned, even choosing to stay at the Kimpton property (it is above the hotel).
The view is spectacular and can't be beat; night or day. Chose a window seat (only for two) and have a romantic dinner.

Staff is attentive and friendly. They make an effort to use our sir names and make the evening personal. The nightly manager stops by at every table each time we have been there to check on our experience.

We haven't had anything at this restaurant that we haven't enjoyed. From appetizers to desserts, we love the fare here. Don't forget the mixologists! They know what they are doing and are quite imaginative with their drink choices; adapting them to your palate and wishes.

Return trip: Without a doubt!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Cusp, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Nina,
Thank you for making sure to come to Cusp when you are in town. We wished you and your husband lived in La Jolla. We look forward to your next visit to La Jolla, and thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Cheers,
Mark Spears
Cusp General Manager
mark.spears@cusprestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast and dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is convenient if you are staying at Hotel La Jolla-on the top floor. Drinks were pretty good, food was above average, nice view of the ocean in the distance, cheerful, good atmosphere. Service was excellent. Had two meals here and enjoyed both. Seafood choices and great french toast for breakfast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Cusp, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi Margarita200,

Breakfast and Dinner at Cusp, I can't think of a better way fill your belly for a busy day in La Jolla or the perfect place to sit back relax and unwind after a busy day in La Jolla. I'm glad you enjoyed the best of both worlds at Cusp. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience was. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in La Jolla,

Cheers,
Mark Spears
Cusp General Manager
mark.spears@cusprestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service, food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We only had drinks, apps, breakfast and dessert, so can't speak to the entrees, but everything we ate or drank was top notch, served by excellent bartenders and waitstaff who were happy to answer questions but weren't pushy or overly attentive. We had an offer for a free entree, but couldn't be there for dinner to use it - the bartender made sure we got a dessert instead with our late night drinks. The cocktails are carefully prepared and excellent - it's great fun to sit at the bar and watch them shake, stir and muddle!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Cusp, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi SirMorrow,
Our bar staff puts a tremendous amout of love into each cocktail they shake or stir and I will be sure to pass along your kind words. I'm glad you were able to experiecne a few differnt aspects of Cusp while you were here, but a little bummed you weren't able to try any entrees...maybe next time. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

Cheers,
Mark Spears
Cusp General Manager
mark.spears@cusprestaurant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You Pay for the View...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Cusp is the home of the $15.00 martini served in one of those little plastic margarita glasses that you buy at Costco. The food is not bad. However, if you want amazing, go somewhere else. Parenthetically, the present chef appears to have a "thing" for red chilis. The view is spectacular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cusp also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Cusp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cusp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.