We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines

A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines
11480 N. Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
8584534420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,268 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $0 - $150
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Callan Road
Description: The Grill offers a casual and convenient San Diego dining experience located adjacent to the practice putting greens and starters club house of the Torrey Pines Golf Course. Whether dining inside or on the patio, you will find a complete menu of your favorite items and beverages.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Totally exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A wonderful anniversary occasion made all the more so by an absolutely superb meal served with perfection. The setting, the the food and the wine combined to make it all most memorable. At the maitre d's suggestion we sat outside - a table overlooking the pool and hotel grounds - just perfect. In many, many years of travelling some of the best hotels and restaurants, I cannot recall a better meal more pleasantly served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    27
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

How do you begin to explain perfection? A R Valentien's!
From the beautiful setting to the exquisite food there is no way to go wrong here. Whether you choose from menu or Pre Fixed you will leave delighted. The wine list wonderful the service exceptional. Only accolades, not one suggestion to improve anything. Made our special occasion even better than we could have hoped.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is hard to define what makes a meal an occasion, but a meal at A R Valentien is definitely an occasion. I'd count it among the most memorable restaurant meals of my life. All components of the meal were superb: the dining room is lovely, the service exceptional, the food excellently prepared and presented, and the wine pairings generously poured and fantastically matched to complement the food.

My husband ordered the 4 course tasting menu with wine pairings (which we shared) and I ordered an appetizer and an entree. This restaurant is expensive, however the value is excellent. The meal includes many "extras"; an amuse bus (our was a ahi tartar), an entremet sorbet, and a side of vegetables (in addition to the vegetables plated with the entrees). The wines on the tasting menu were wonderful, and when we commented something was wrong with one of wines, the wine director immediately, and happily, brought us another wine as a replacement and a tasting of a premium Cabernet Sauvignon in addition. The kitchen is obviously exceptionally talented and skilled. Our entrees were almost perfect, the only exception being my duck breast was too salty. Next time I'll ask for no added salt.
I

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant fitting of it's setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a delightful lunch while visiting Torrey Pines. Great wait staff, and helpful with giving directions for nearby walking paths. Fresh, and tasty food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Restaurant experience doesn't meet Lodge standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We dined at the Grill, which is the more casual restaurant overlooking the golf course for Easter. When I made the reservation the hostess informed me that they would be serving a regular menu with a few specialty items chosen by the Chef for Easter. This gave me the impression that the restaurant would be a casual, but nice atmosphere.
The ambiance when you walk in the lobby of the resort is just as you would expect, like a Lodge in the Scottish Highlands. Wood burning fireplaces and a gorgeous ocean view. The valets wear kilts and the entire place seems to keep with the golf, lodge theme. Which is why I was so surprised that the restaurant on the golf course had all the charm of a Denny's. We waited for a table even with the reservation and it was too breezy to dine on the patio so we sat indoors. The menu was brunch and lunch fare with typical resort prices, but not over the top. The drinks will set you back $12-20, so be prepared for the tab to double if you order wine or cocktails.
There were 6 of us and everyone agreed the food was very good, despite the lack luster ambiance. We headed up to the lobby bar after lunch and sat by the fireplace. The bar menu is limited, but the ambiance is far better than the Grill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A.R. Valentien at The Lodge at Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.