We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're after good food, don't book here.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
“If you're after good food, don't book here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We booked based on previous reviews and we like to stay in boutique hotels for something a bit different and a bit nicer than your average hotel. The buildings and surroundings are very nice. Reception staff are helpful, if not a little direct sometimes but overall quite good. Housekeeping were very good. However, we felt very let down by a) the quality of food here and b) the dining service is just dreadful. We booked 2 rooms with balconies for 6 nights so it wasn't as if we were here for a just couple of meals here. The service was consistently slow, mistakes made in orders, confusion over orders and servers who seemed to disappear whenever you needed them so we had to find our own silverware etc. The final straw came when we booked a table at 530pm with our 3 young children at their thanksgiving buffet. We sat next to 3 other tables with children, none of whom were perfect by any means. However, the "manager" found it necessary to talk firmly and quietly to us about our "noisy baby". Needless to say, the manager found himself on the receiving end of a short sharp conversation with my husband with the promise of a complaint to his manager. Our "noisy" 1 year old had been sat quite happily shaking his plastic water bottle against a wooden table and couldn't be heard above the ipad being played on the table behind us, the two boys running around the restaurant or the other table whose baby was crying. Really?! Family aside, even if it was just us booking this place as a couple I wouldn't rate the quality of food at all. It's ok, perfectly edible but nothing special that the other reviews talk about. The facilities and grounds are nice and I can't review the spa as I didn't use it. Finally, this hotel lacks the little things that make a difference. No information in the rooms about spa services, minimal poor quality toiletries, no newspapers in the lobby, inconsistent attitude between staff (some were super friendly where others were very clearly having a bad day!) etc. Would we recommend to other families wishing to travel to high end hotels, no.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our property as well as the Front Office and Housekeeping staff. With regard to your dining experiences over the weekend, I would like to apologize and let you know that I have shared your review with the Food & Beverage Director and our Executive Chef. They will follow up with their teams and revisit policies and training as needed. We wish you and your family a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    274
    114
    55
    28
See reviews for
213
370
43
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was ok !!! On arrival they served glass of champagne which was a nice touch. They really could use a porter to show you to your room as it is truly a maze and it was dark when we arrived and after talking to others from the conference they had similar issue.Told us water bottles would be replenished as needed thru out the stay didn't happen:( they supply cozy bathrobes but no slippers:( also very limited bath amenities no q tips etc,I expected this at a spa hotel. Walls were very thin could hear the neighbors clearly. Hot tub highly chlorinated and pool dirty. Very nice out door fireplace and sitting area. Otherwise a very nice setting. Most of the staff very courteous . House keeping staff were really nice. I would stay again but wouldn't want to pay top $ !!! Not the top quality luxury I was expecting...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Thank you for the comments on our housekeeping staff, we will be sure to share with the team. The bottled water should have been replenished daily, we’re very sorry that yours wasn’t and we will look into that right away. We do have additional bath amenities available upon request, so please feel free to call the hotel operator to request anything you need. We apologize that the saltwater pool and whirlpool were not tidy- we will look into this as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Estancia la Jolla is an oasis of comfort and luxury that was offered to us in a package that included daily breakfast and a dinner one night at Mustangs and Burros. The southwestern decor is absolutely stunning and the food and service were top notch. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Estancia was such a warm welcoming resort with its authenticity of décor. The flair of the Spanish Décor made you feel as if you were in another country. The details from the wood beamed ceilings, the inserts of Spanish Tile, the log filled fireplace, the Wine Bar and the outdoor pool and hot tubs made the resort a place worth revisiting time and time again. I enjoyed coming out of the hot tub on a cool crisp evening and sitting by one of the many out door fireplaces to sip hot tea and have a glass of wine with friends. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for posting such an amazing review- it was very fun to read your beautiful descriptions of the ambiance on property. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post such great feedback and we are so happy to hear that you are planning to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a very nicely appointed hotel with very capable staff. The rooms are clean and well equipped for the business traveller.

I must say that I found the layout of the hotel a little cryptic and it was initially difficult to find where you were going. It is not that the layout is unusual but the access to the various wings is restricted. Often you are required to take the long way around to get where you would like to go.

I was attending a small conference at the hotel and from this perspective the facility is well suited. The technology up to date and the rooms are comfortable. This would not be a large gathering site but an excellent spot for smaller groups. There are numerous informal gathering areas throughout the grounds which is nice to have particularly in such a beautiful setting.

With regards to its location, you are somewhat isolated and there is not much around within easy walking distance. So your choices of dining are for the most part restricted to the on-site restaurants. These are quality choices and worth staying to dine but if you like to wander a bit for your morning coffee, you might want to choose somewhere a little closer to the beaten track.

You are a little ways from the beach but if you are a runner you can get there in a few minutes. There are access points in the neighbourhood behind the hotel. It is a fair drop in elevation but the beaches are worth building into your morning run. The access is limited due to the cliffs but can be found on google map.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Estancia is a fabulous upscale property without the upscale snobbery. Every staff member we encountered we so extremely accommodating and nice. The food was fabulous, even in room dining, which my past experiences with other hotels was always so disappointing. We were offered a room off the beaten path, which was just what we needed, peace and quiet.

Would love to know where the hotel purchased the Fluffy Pillow in the room, it almost went home with us...wink wink

My only suggestion would be to offer a shuttle or car service to take you to the village so you don't have to drive / attempt to park in busy La Jolla.

Thank you Estancia, until we meet again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about Estancia. Romantic, superb service, spotless, amazing food. Dined at mustangs and burros for dinner and breakfast at Adobe house. While there are resort fees it is well worth every penny. Amazing job to Estancia La Jolla and it's staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we are even more excited to hear that you are planning a future visit. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.