We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$150 Resort Credit
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This resort sports lovely gardens that give more than a sense of serenity but also one of wanting to return. I stayed as a business trip 4 nights and have only 3 complaints that would otherwise change my rating to EXCELLENT from Very Good.

First, room service- delivered my hot soup without a soup spoon and then took another 30 minutes to deliver a spoon. Nothing worse than cold taco soup.
Second, the WiFi sucks. It is improperly setup and for this resort to play host to a group of about 200 Industry experts... fix it!
Thirdly, the LaJolla room temperature was just too cold.

Breakfasts were excellent, rooms quiet and grounds beautiful. I plan to go back but won't be as forgiving if I encounter the same issues.

Room Tip: Any room away from the exit and entry doors that connect the buildings--- otherwise you will hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write review. We are so glad to hear that you plan to stay with us again. I truly apologize about not bringing a spoon for your soup. You are absolutely right- there is nothing worse than cold soup! I will follow up with the team to make sure we do not make that mistake again. I can offer some reassurance in that we are working with our provider on our Wi-Fi bandwidth, please know that we are committed to providing Wi-Fi to our guests. Lastly, the temperature in the ballroom is adjustable. Next time, please just let us know and our engineering team would be happy to adjust the thermostat. We are also happy to bring you blanket or wrap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    245
    102
    53
    23
See reviews for
184
322
39
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Estancia La Jolla last weekend. Stayed Thursday night to Sunday.
From the valet service to check in to check out we were quite impressed. The young college student that showed us the room on check in was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
We had a 1st floor garden room, very clean and quiet, (except for the rabbits next door on Saturday morning). The pool and spa area was surrounding by walking paths and beautiful gardens.
My wife had a massage and she said it was one of the best ever.
Food and drinks are pricey so be prepared. Breakfast buffet was $25 per and nothing special. Service was mediocre for the one breakfast we had there.
Bartenders were great and excellent service.
Wedding reception was also excellent. The table service was impeccable.
A wonderful resort for that special weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor garden room. Easy access to pool area and back to lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear that your wife enjoyed her spa experience and that you both enjoyed our grounds and amenities. Thank you for the compliment on our banquet and event staff- they are truly one of our best teams! I wanted to let you know that our General Manager proudly shared your review with our entire team and again, we thank you for posting. We hope to welcome you and your wife back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel might be the best kept secret in San Diego. If you are looking for a peaceful or romantic getaway, this is definitely the place to stay. It is a bit isolated, but there's no reason to leave the grounds. From the minute I drove up to this unique property, I knew I would enjoy my stay. The Estancia was once a working horse ranch and the lobby is a small unassuming building. Everyone from the valets, desk clerks, servers, housekeeping, and spa staff are pleasant and friendly. It is obvious that the staff is well trained and enjoy working at this quality hotel. The gardens are plush with exotic plants and succulents. Our room overlooking the gardens was peaceful. The sound of the fountain and songbirds was relaxing. The hotel is elegant in an understated way. Obviously a great deal of thought went into the design and amenities. The spa was well appointed and the masseuse was top-notch. The saltwater pool and jacuzzi are well maintained and the cabanas are a nice touch. The three on-site restaurants serve a variety of food. The chef is to be commended. The signature cocktails are also highly rated. I took advantage of the San Diego resident rate and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a balcomy on the second or third floor overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I want to let you know that we shared your review with our entire team! We love hearing from our guests and we especially love hearing from locals. We are so grateful that you chose Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week beginning April 15 and had my son's wedding on April 20. Can't say enough about the staff the facilitity. From the valet young men, to the front desk, housekeeping waitresses event planner everyone went above and beyond. The food for the wedding was amazing our every request was honored in more than a timely fashion. The whole staff made you feel life family not a guest.Would hight recommend this location for any event or vacation. It was very convenient to the airport, downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: The suite we had by the pool was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at several 5-star resorts nation wide, however this was a quite and beautiful resort tucked away in La Jolla. The Head VIP Concierge Gabby DelGado was by far the best host I've encountered, once we arrived check in was fast and easy we walked in our room and Gabby had a bottle of wine with waters and chocolates along with our sons favorite beverage waiting for us. I recommend this resort hands down but you must ask for Gabby in VIP services.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lovely setting, beautifully maintained garden, but be prepared to pay a “resort fee to thoroughly enjoy our property amenities” ... this translates as hefty service charges for things you get for free in cheaper hotels. Also, do expect to pay for valet parking for your car (one would expect this in a high-rise Tokyo hotel but at expansive Estancia?) So for the privilege of using the so-called salted swimming pool and hot tub (dubious about that claim as our skins smelt of chemicals after our dip) and using the one coffee sachet and two tea bags provided in your room you will pay. Without transport of your own, you will also be required to splash out $55 excluding a tip, to visit La Jolla Village which is a mere four miles away. The yellow cabs are reluctant to come to this hotel due to their exclusive black limo policy – bad management practices at yellow cabs and bad management at Estancia. So either you walk to the village, or you show them the money! When I raised this with the manager, he told me there was no demand from guests for cheaper transport at this establishment. So suck it up or stay somewhere else.
We did not experience the spa which stocks a range of expensive skin care and body care products. There was no price list available so you will be required to look underneath each product to see the price. No price list for treatments either – a tablet at the front desk gave a list of body and face treatments at prices that would feed an African village for six months.
Food on these premises is pricey. Not fabulous, but edible, and the service certainly lacks the panache and seamless ease that we have experienced at other high-end spa resorts in other countries. A beautiful location but Estancia fails to deliver on service and generosity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I’m sorry you found our location nestled in Torrey Pines between the villages of Del Mar and La Jolla a bit inconvenient. You are correct in that it is a short drive in either direction and cabs are often reluctant to come to our property, though not because of an exclusive with a limo company. In fact we cultivated our relationship with the car service to better serve our guests who used to experience extremely long waits for cabs which often would not show up at all. Please know that our Guest Services team is currently working on a program with local taxi companies and hope to roll it shortly. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. The grounds are lovely. In the morning it was,lovely to grab a coffee and sit in the grounds and take a nice leisurely start to your day. I was here on business and it was a very pleasant stay. There is an additional resort fee and valet parking is steep, but I would return. The room was comfy, the bath products are nice, you don't need your own, I liked the shampoo and conditioner: good quality products which is always appreciated. I do want to let any female business travelers know that the light and bathroom mirror are not great for applying make up. You may want to take the little mirror and bring it out to the room to get more natural light. I also noticed that on the TV channels, they advertised for TV for guys, in fact they even had a little promo for guy movies... I just want to say that women are business travelers too, and I was waiting for the promo geared towards chick friendly movies? I don't know why hotels still think the business traveller is male? All in all a good hotel, I would come back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We would also like the thank you for the compliments on our grounds and landscape, we are glad you found this to be a welcome change for a business stay. As for the television channel offerings- those services are provided by outside vendors but thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will certainly look into the situation further. Also, please know for next time that we have limited quantities of things like light-up magnification mirrors along with cell phone chargers etc… that we are happy to lend you during your stay. Please just call housekeeping to inquire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.