We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Peace and Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dana Point,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcome to Peace and Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The grounds are a plant lovers delight, lots of nooks and seats
to sit and enjoy the fountain, or just take in the spring blooms. We had an Estate King Room, and it was just right, with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. They have a salt water pool, and spa on the other end, which we prefer. Dining in house was very good, and the signature welcome Margaritas were great also. Close enough to get to Trader Joe's, or any of the local places to eat, and walk around down in the cove area of La Jolla. Staff attentive, Valet service spot on. Maids needed a little reminder about coffee and towels, usual stuff. We will stay again, robes are nice touch, in room movies, total relaxation for weary working couples. Most important, when I voiced a concern they fixed it, and no repeats. that's customer service.

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony courtyard view, and enjoy the beautiful plants, fountain, and birds in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review, we are so glad that you found our property to be peaceful and tranquil and our customer service to be top notch. I am excited to share your comments with the team! Please also know that I have already passed along your feedback about coffee and towels to the Director of Housekeeping- thank you for bringing that to our attention. We hope to welcome back for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    295
    117
    56
    28
See reviews for
231
384
44
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just spent spring break and could not have been more pleased! This is a three story Spanish architecture hotel and spa. We had a first floor patio room facing the extensive gradens (which are beautiful). Beautiful room! Mini fridge,coffee maker, bottles of water are provided. Parking is valet and the staff is great in providing directions, sight-seeing/resturant suggestions and bottles of water for the road! There are 3 resturants on site, room service is available (even for late arrivals!). Pool area is outstanding with covered cabanas (w/mini fridge) and hot tub. No kiddie pool. Fitness center was above par with cool down towels provided. We truly enjoyed this hotel! The down side - no beach BUT an amazing beach is about 10 minutes (by auto) away. Torrey Pines golf course is about 10 minutes away and University of SanDiego is across the street. And did I comment on how quite it is?! I loved it!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such thorough feedback. This is not only valuable to us, but for future guests considering our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your spring break and thank you for spending it with us. We hope to welcome you back for spring break 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Estancia La Jolla. The grounds were beautiful. The room was luxuriously appointed and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large and bright, with beautiful fixtures, great water pressure and smooth stone floors. We used the hot tub and pool area and liked them. I used the fitness center, which was small but had everything I needed. We ate at two of the resturants, both excellent. All the staff was wonderful and friendly. We used the valet parking and concierge service, they were great. With staff direction, we walked down to Black's Beach, a short walk to a beautiful beach with views of San Diego. We also walked across the street to the UCSD campus. I would love to go back.

Room Tip: If you like to be in on the action, choose a room near the pool to hear the happy voices of children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Celebrating my husband's 60th birthday at this beautiful resort was the perfect choice. The Estancia La Jolla had everything we wanted. As a costco member, we received free breakfast every morning, soft robes, free newspaper, and complimentary Voss water. The grounds were perfectly manicured and the staff was very nice. We had a wonderful time. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All the room nice. We stayed near the courtyard and it was quiet and close to self parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Estancia La Jolla was the perfect weekend getaway. From the moment we arrived the staff was on their game. Our room was not ready when we arrive so we were as to wait a short time and were given a complimenty drink and appetizer at one of the hotels restaurants. Our room was ready before we had even finished our drinks. The young, energetic and professional staff were a huge plus to our glorious weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your weekend getaway. Thank you for taking the time to write a review with such positive feedback. We are so glad to hear that you felt your experience was perfect from a customer service standpoint. I will be sure to share this review with the team. We hope you will join us for future weekend getaways. Please stay in touch through social media- our channels can be found on our website. We often have giveaways and exclusive promotions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband booked a romantic spa package in celebration of our anniversary and what should have been an enjoyable experience from a 4 star rated property was quite the contrary. Our room was not ready upon our arrival (after check-in hours). The best service we received was from a hotel security guard. In an effort to redeem themselves, the GM invites us back for a second visit. We truly wanted to like this property, (the grounds are beautiful) but it failed miserably in leaving a "lasting impression".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I’m glad that our General Manager had a chance to speak with you last year after your stay. If you feel that your concerns have not been addressed, please do not hesitate to give us call. Our General Manager is out of the office this week, but our Director of Operations would really like the opportunity to speak with you to learn more and perhaps he can assist in booking the reservation with the gift certificate we sent you last year? If you could either send a direct message with your contact information or call the hotel at 858.550.1000 and ask for the Director of Front Office Operations that would be great. We truly apologize for your experience and the missed opportunity to make your anniversary special last year and would love the opportunity to welcome you back and regain your confidence in our ability to provide excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I are frequent travelers to SD as we are looking after my husbands ailing parents. We prefer to have our own place to stay when we are there so we have stayed at Rancho Bernardo, Lodge at Torrey Pines and Scripps Inn on several occasions. We are very fond of Scripps Inn but had wanted to investigate a property with a little more to offer in terms of amenities. I have to admit I was a little skeptical because I find California resorts, along with a la carting you to death, have basically the same formula. Estancia exceeded my expectations. In terms of balance between comfort and elegance they have it just right. The decor perfectly suited my taste and was recently refreshed. A room with light on a higher floor is most comfortable. The grounds are very beautiful and peaceful. Personally I do not find the property suitable for children because of the serene environment but that is only my humble opinion. There were children there and it is child friendly in terms of safety. We were able to walk to Black's beach, a little light hiking required, so that offsets the lack of ocean views. We really were looking for a place that we can return to every couple of months and Estancia is definitely it. Sadly, I did not get a chance to use the $50 spa credit, which I sorely needed, due to the nature of our trip, maybe next time? We loved our stay and our lovely light, quiet, courtyard facing room. Estancia really felt like home away from home which is exactly what we wanted. Staff was exceptional. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: The travelers photo's while good, do not do the rooms or bathrooms justice, they are both nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such helpful feedback. I am happy to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location and went for a nice walk to Black’s Beach. I’m sorry that you did not have a chance to enjoy the newly redesigned Spa at Estancia- it is truly beautiful so I hope you can stop in for a treatment and some relaxation during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
3.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Grande Colonial La Jolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Jolla Cove Suites
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Jolla, a Kimpton Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#2 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.