We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place for Old Friends' Reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 nights, Save 30%
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for Old Friends' Reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A dozen old friends decided to take advantage of a special offer at the Estancia to spend some time together. In a sentence, we had a wonderful time. The staff were each helpful and friendly. A gardener stopped what he was doing to give me directions (the grounds are very large and could use a few more directional signs). The concierge advised us of some restaurants with water views that could accommodate our group and made the reservation for us.The rooms at our price point, while not impressive looking, were roomy enough, very clean, had large flat screen TVs, and nice toiletries. The bathroom was modern with marble counter top. Hair dryer and iron were provided. One pricing feature I liked was the "hospitality fee". Instead of being nickeled and dimed for different extras, the most common ones are all in one fee which included access to the exercise area, wi-fi, bottled water, a welcome drink in the lobby, morning coffee in the wine bar, and a free margarita (very tasty) in the bar. Our special offer included valet parking. The hotel was very busy with several weddings and other events, but the valets never kept us waiting longer than 5-10 minutes. There is a lavish buffet breakfast on the weekends which is $22, more than my budget allows for breakfast. The server told us that for half that price, we could have a 'continental breakfast' which included all the cold items, even smoked salmon with capers and also hot oatmeal. That was a good deal.Located directly across from University of California San Diego and adjacent to the Salk Institute, this property is not right on the beach, but there are walking trails next to the hotel. While the shops and attractions of La Jolla and San Diego are nearby, the Estancia provides a tranquil retreat from the crowds. Our room on the ground floor was rather dark. I would request a room on the third floor next time. A major refurbishing is planned for early 2013 which should brighten up the rooms. I would also have liked more outdoor places to sit and relax with my friends. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor with garden view would be best. Lower floors the rooms are darker and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated by the team here at the hotel as well as potential future guests. It sounds like you had a nice time catching up with old friends, and I’m glad our concierge was able to assist your group with a fun and memorable night out. We hope to welcome you back for the next reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    257
    108
    53
    28
See reviews for
198
350
42
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montebello, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Sleep, rest, swim, and eat well. Great place to bask in quiet beauty and liesure . Our bartender / waiter was funny, attentive, and engaging. The food was delicious, particularly the weekend breakfast buffet (so much good quality food to choose from). Torrey Pines for golf and scenic beach path are both within 5 min. drive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I went here for our 5th wedding anniversary and really love it! Beautiful and relaxing. The grounds are amazing. The food was excellent. Love the carne asada tacos! My wife went to the spa and had a great treatment as well. Truly a wonder place for a get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Happy Fifth Anniversary… we hope to welcome you back for many more. We are glad to hear your wife enjoyed the spa- if you two come back after mid-January 2013 you will be able to experience the new Couple’s Bungalow and a few other additions that are part of the overall Spa enhancement. I haven’t had the carne asada tacos yet- so thank you for the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location of the hotel felt unusual placed on an business park, the gardens of the hotel are lovely but made it evident it was hiding the complete lack of view. The rooms were clean, towels lovely, shower fabulous. The food was overpriced for average quality. Staff were helpful though the arrival was tainted by the valet service not giving a simple explanation as to how valet parking worked (being from the uk we had no idea).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Estancia five nights while attending a medical workshop. There were plenty of helpful staff, beautiful grounds, and wonderful food. The pool area is well kept and the pool is salt water. A real plus. There is only one restaurant opened at night, which was a disappointment. However, they had an extensive menu and after dining there five nights in a row, I was still trying new dishes. It was truly a five star experience.

Room Tip: There is a row of rooms on one side that open to a parking lot. There is no view and not much light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the feedback. We would love to hear more about your dining experiences, so please feel free to share some insight on some of the top dishes or better yet- share some pictures on any of our social media channels. By the way- the Ahi Sliders are my current favorite from the menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just spent a week at the Estancia and throughly enjoyed my stay. It is not a typical chain hotel and that makes it very special indeed. My room was very well appointed, excellent bathroom with all the proper amenities. Good water pressure and excellent daily maid service. Their reataurant Mustang and Burros is outstanding, Casual California with terrific service. My only real gripe was the internet was a bit pokey and went "down" sevral time during the visit. Otherwise, top marks, I will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have lived in San Diego for most of my life and worked at some of the top hotels. This property is a hidden gem. I knew it was there but had never stayed there. My wife took me there last weekend for a birthday getaway and from the moment we arrived we felt the level of customer service along with the beauty of the property that we were at a very high end hotel. I wanted to personally recognize Eric Stephenson and Heather Canton. They both went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that my birthday weekend was extraordinary and that we were not left wanting to leave. We will be back for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaHotelManager, Manager at Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that we could make your birthday weekend so special. We hope that you'll join us again whether it be a special occasion or just a relaxing getaway. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa

Address: 9700 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A California-coastal rancho setting on 10 acres conveniently located between the two quaint seaside villages of La Jolla and Del Mar and adjacent to world-class Torrey Pines Golf Course, Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa offers a range of upscale accommodations from charming rancho style deluxe rooms to expansive suites with world-class facilities and exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Estancia La Jolla Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.