We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average expectations; average results” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Of La Jolla

Sands Of La Jolla
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sands Of La Jolla to your Saves list
Sands Of La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5417 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in La Jolla
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average expectations; average results”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

An older motel. Everything about it screams older, including the price, so it's a value in the end. But not enough of a value for me to stay here again. Never again.

But average!

The bed was ok. I've slept on worse. The pool area was clean. The bathroom is just old.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay at much more expensive places and stayed at this place New Year's Eve because I wanted to be walking distance from a party I was going to. I was pleasantly surprised by this value. Clean quiet room, friendly staff, coffee. Everything you need at a bargain basement price!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We never go all out for a hotel room in San Diego since we won't be in our room except to sleep (in fact we usually stay at Motel 6!) but this time I was looking around for something different and found this one. We were pretty happy with Sands of La Jolla! You absolutely can't beat the price for location, and the room was clean, decorated fine, and has a big flat screen tv + perfectly adequate linens & even shampoo & hair dryer. There are things you could criticize, but when you've got this location, I don't care! I do have to remind everyone that there is no A/C but it's generally cool enough here for it not to matter. (Of course we were there the weekend San Diego made heat records -100! - but it did cool way down at night and they have fans. Leaving the patio door open appears to be safe too.) Again, call direct for best rates - a booking site was going to charge $119 + $6 booking fee but I called the hotel and got 2 beds for $79. A steal! I will be back -- it's several steps up from Motel 6 at a similar price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel looked pretty online, but disappointing when we arrived in person. No A/C, so they offered an extra fan. The beds did not have a fitted bottom sheet, just a top sheet that didn't fit well so it would slide off constantly. The beds were noisy and very shakie. The pool was freezing. No hot tub. No mirror outside of the bathroom. They advertised free wireless, but only had it available part of the time, on and off. The positives were there were no bugs on the 2nd floor, it was a very quiet and safe neighboorhood that was close to shopping and only a few blocks from the ocean and beaches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I went during Comic Con so prices were astronomical everywhere, except here. I was nervous about the Sands as I had my 13yr old with me. I was prepared to go to a high end hotel if it was unclean or had bugs. My son and I were pleasantly relieved. Although the property is older, the place is well kept, clean, and close to it all. It is 1/2 block to a CVS Pharmacy as well. The King bed that I shared with my son was very comfortable and bug free. I always pull all he sheets off to check (no matter where I go). For an average of $90/night is is worth the price any time of the year. But there is no luxury or large rooms here. For a clean place with a good night sleep. Go for this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Came in late so can't comment on poolarea.
No breakfast - poor!

Rooms a little bit worn down but great anyway.
Very nice area!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

nice rooms, lots of parking. best price in la jolla. oh yeah there no smoking and pets for all the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Jolla
La Jolla Cove Suites
#18 of 25 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
La Jolla Shores Hotel
#12 of 25 in La Jolla
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Of La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Of La Jolla

Address: 5417 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in La Jolla
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Of La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Sands Of La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Sands La Jolla
Sands Hotel La Jolla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Of La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.