We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the first time I went there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollonia Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Apollonia Bistro
8650 Genesee Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92122-1134
858-455-1535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Apollonia Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 1,274 restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nobel Drive
Transit: Bus stops are available on Nobel Drive and Genesee Avenue within 2-minute walk from Apollonia
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Much better than the first time I went there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I somewhat reluctantly agreed to have dinner here with friends because my last experience wasn't that great. For example, if you like good thick lentil soup, this is not the place for it. Their lentil soup is very brothy (or "watery" in my terminology). I had the tomato basil soup this time which was fine although it could have had more basil and I had the lamb moussaka. I really liked the moussaka, authentic or not. The portions are quite large so I had enough leftover for lunch the next day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    5
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Nothing extraordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Went here on recommendation as we were in the area and we were disappointed, I just didn't think it was very authentic Greek food. The Moussaka was not very good and I don't know were they got their recipe because it wasn't Greek. The rest of the food was all about the same just not very good. I have been to many great authentic Greek restaurants in southern California and this is not one of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Solid Greek Food. One of the best in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

San Diego may have the worst Greek food of any major city. But if you are craving a good gyro or other Greek specialties you can't go wrong here. Well prepared and good service. But don't compare it to what you can get in New York!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Greek food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Apollonia Bistro is in a very busy shopping center in the UTC Golden Triangle area but is well worth stopping in. Warm, friendly service and wonderful authentic Greek food. Outside dining is protected from weather and very inviting. Menu is worth taking your time to read. Great for lunch or dinner and enjoy a great wine with you meal!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleBitBritish
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Greek food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was craving moussaka and we took a chance here. We arrived and choose to sit on the patio. Husband enjoyed the beer which was authentic and the moussaka we were told was made on the premises, we could not fault the food. Really delicious! The menu offered a great selection too. My portion of moussaka was most generous, I did think I would not manage to eat it all....but no....and instead I didn't have a dessert, the moussaka completely satisfied my appetite!! Yummy!! it came with delicious rice too. Husband tried a medley of items which he really enjoyed.....we'll be back!! The inside of this restaurant was really nice decorated too....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollonia Bistro also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Apollonia Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollonia Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.