We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollonia Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Apollonia Bistro
8650 Genesee Ave, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92122-1134
858-455-1535
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Apollonia Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 1,274 restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nobel Drive
Transit: Bus stops are available on Nobel Drive and Genesee Avenue within 2-minute walk from Apollonia
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The menu looked great and I had a hard time deciding what to order. I finally ordered the minestrone soup and chicken couscous. The soup was watery so distracted from all the nice ingredients. The chicken couscous was so spicy I couldn't eat it and I had asked them not to include the harissa! They couldn't have been nicer about letting me choose something else to eat other than the chicken, though. (I never said anything about the soup).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    5
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Apollonia Bistro is located in a strip mall so there's plenty of parking and it's easy to find. There is both indoor and outdoor seating.
The chicken kebob is perfectly seasoned, tender and delicious, and served over rice pilaf. They have many vegetarian options as well. Be sure to try the briami (vegetable stew).
Prices are very reasonable for such good food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good food, good service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This restaurant is a favorite whenever I am visiting La Jolla. Conveniently located, with a pleasant atmosphere and always good food and friendly service, it's the kind of place that you can bring kids to but still enjoy a sophisticated, grown-up meal. They have a nice wine selection and a great menu with classic Mediterranean offerings. This last time, we took the good advice of a fellow diner (thanks, Sonja), and ordered a couple of sampler dinners to share. We got lots of food and we got to try a nice variety of dishes. We also ordered the Calamari appetizer, which was a little disappointing as the calamari was a bit soggy and it was served with the wrong sauce, but I'll give them a pass on this one since it was late in evening and we were probably the last diners served that night. Overall, still a favorite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The waiter we had was very attentive. If one of our sodas or waters were even close to being empty, he was there asking if wanted a refill of the soda or gave us more water. He didn't leave us waiting for long periods of time and took our order diligently, getting everything perfect.

The atmosphere was nice as well. We were given the choice of where we wanted to sit, inside or the outside heated patio. We were there for our anniversary dinner and decided to sit in the outdoor patio. The seats were comfortable, it was quiet and just perfect for us.

The food was amazing!! I had never been to a Greek restaurant before this night and I was quiet amazed at how good I thought the food was. The portions were a good size and the food just melted in my mouth. We started off with the Hummos, I had the Chicken Riganato and my bf had the beef kabob. Both were delicious. We ended dinner with Baklava and chocolate mousse, both of which were good. Half way through the meal we were talking about coming back and trying other items on the menu!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Moderately priced Greek food in a pleasant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

They serve authentic Greek food that is tasty and comes up pretty fast, maybe a tad too fast, but acceptable. We just finished our soup and salad when the server came with our entrees. The menu offerings are ample and the prices reasonable. The furnishings are adequate and not fancy, and reminded me of moderately priced restaurants in Athens. The server was efficient and pleasant. About half the restaurant is on their heated outdoor terrace, so if you want to be inside when you make your reservation, make sure you reserve indoor seating if the weather is cooler. Overall it was a pleasant experience and one I would repeat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollonia Bistro also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Apollonia Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollonia Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.