We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Beer and Guacamole” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puesto Mexican Street Food

Puesto Mexican Street Food
1026 Wall St, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
(858) 454-1260
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Puesto Mexican Street Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,263 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Puesto is a popular San Diego restaurant that successfully mixes a casual attitude with an original twist on Mexican street food and drinks. Puesto knows the true meaning of fresh with hand-made tortillas, scratch salsas, all-natural meats, sustainable seafood and local greens. This incredible combination of the freshest, highest quality ingredients all prepared in house creates the greatest TACOS you've ever tasted! Chef Luisteen serves beautiful market salads, antojitos (Mexican tapas), ceviches, moles, tostadas and other authentic Mexican favorites. Puesto serves up a refreshing craft bar program led by San Diego's champion mixologists Queen, Conner and Ward. They bring Puesto's dedication to freshness and quality to scratch Margaritas, Palomas, and seasonal Aguas Frescas served pure or as cocktails. SALUD!
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mexican Beer and Guacamole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We wanted a laid-back dinner and they delivered. We ordered assorted tacos and the guacamole. The very large guacamole bowl was delicious--we scraped the bowl with the last of our tortilla chips. The tacos were seasoned wonderfully--and having an assortment of beers was a pleasant surprise. We didn't have time to try the fruit popsicles, but the rest of the food tasted authentic. There are assorted seating arrangements, so large and small groups would have many options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    55
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
upstate New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Really delicious food! We ordered take away 2 separate nights and the food was ready and hot for pick up 15 minutes later. The tacos are superb and the bowls are delicious. Everyone was happy. The actual restaurant is very casual with longer tables that you might share with someone else. I preferred the take away as we could just eat at our house and have a bit more privacy. Couldn't be the price for the quality of food and the staff was very friendly. We even got a free large fruit cup for having to "wait" for the first pickup order (I didn't even realize that I had waited - that's how good the service was!).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfection on a tortilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

So do I really want to tell everyone about this place...hmmmm. If I do it will be swamped and I won't be able to just walk up a grab some of the BEST and most imaginative street tacos this side of the International boarder. If I don't then they won't continue to grow and maybe expand thus giving me more places to get my taco fix. I will be nice...go, please go you won't be sorry. As with most "Taco Joints" doesn't look like much from the outside but once inside it is clean, classy and all things wonderful. Get the 3 Taco tray and step outside your comfort box and order something you normally wouldn't, it will be fantastic and then you can tell your friend I've eaten Cactus Flowers and Zucchini...WHAT!!! Finish with a icy cold local Craft beer and your in heaven.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Love the concept of Puesto - fresh hand made tacos wraps and the freshest of ingredients made daily. Love how the veggies are part of the kitchen design. This is a place for everyone - with something for everyone. Great beer on tap and friendly customer centric service. And best of all, you cannot beat the price!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Carne asada all the way!!! They melt cheese on a grill and wrap the meat inside! Yum!!!!! Plenty of seating. The chips and guac basket was out of this world! Very friendly staff also. Wish we had one in seattle!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puesto Mexican Street Food also viewed

 

Been to Puesto Mexican Street Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puesto Mexican Street Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.