We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seals up close - awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove
1100 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$99*
and up
Advanced La Jolla Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in La Jolla
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, diving and snorkeling. The water is calm and the cove is ecologically protected. There is also a world famous dive site that is located in the La Jolla ecological preserve.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seals up close - awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There is tons to do on La Jolla cove beaches.
1) The best is to watch the seals play and bark and sun themselves. Every day we were able to see a large seal up close on the rocks.
2) There are tons of tide pools to look at sea life.
3) Shell collecting
4) swimming/snorkeling/scuba
5) Soak up sun and watch the waves crashing

The view is great of La Jolla Shores and over to Torrey Pines.

The only drawback is the litter. I can't fathom how anyone can litter a beautiful place like that but they have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,261
    1,283
    253
    74
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love La Jolla!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Love La Jolla! spend and afternoon sitting on a rock bed next to a sea lion, overlooking the ocean. what more can you ask?? oh yhe, went on a kayak & snorkel tour before that and was swimming next to the sea lions. awesome!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hadasinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Razorbackland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pleasant weather, nice views, not much parking. Be patient, as you are looking to park, once you do you will get some good photos! Enjoyed walking around and seeing the sea lions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fayettenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nature View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful vista looking out over the ocean. Take your pick: swimming, climbing on the rocks, snorkeling, or just plain watching the sights.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mani's, Seals, and caves oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

La jolla was beautiful. I went with my friend and we're in our late 20's however there was things to do here for all ages. Now we ate at a great restaurant, looking over the water, it was called azel's steakhouse, the staff was wonderful and the food was delicious. We got a manicure and then walked down to the cove to see the caves and the seals. Lots of kid friendly activities to do. Like I said fun for all ages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla Cove also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing