We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area with amazing rock formations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove
1100 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #2 of 24 Attractions in La Jolla
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, diving and snorkeling. The water is calm and the cove is ecologically protected. There is also a world famous dive site that is located in the La Jolla ecological preserve.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful area with amazing rock formations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I took a little stroll around the Coast Blvd, perused the shops, ate at the Krafty Krepe (great food - see my review for more details), and then cruised on down to the Cove area. It's a really scenic area with some stunning rock formations. We went on top of the rocks above the cove and took some nice photos. Then we walked towards the beach area, checked out the seals and birds along the way, and ended up near the beach. It's a nice beach at the bottom of a cliff area and the waves come rolling in at nice intervals. Every once in a while, you get a really bit one that hits and it's a lot of fun. (It kind of reminds me of the Tulum beach in the Mayan Riviera - just not nearly as warm!) The park is nice to hang out in or play some frisbee or other sport. Overall, a very nice area of La Jolla to take a stroll, see the sights, breathe in the fresh sea smells, and take some scenic photos.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,811
    653
    133
    45
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
542 reviews 542 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“GREAT SEA LIFE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The La Jolla Cove is always a pleasant place to visit. There are many sea mammals to watch and the scenery is fantastic.

There is a large park above the Cove. Some weekends there are as many as a half dozen weddings taking place at the same time. Great setting for starting a new life.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found this area by accident actually. Our 4 year old grandson wanted to take a walk after dinner at a local restuarant and insisted we walk down to the beach. We were so surprised when we found ourselves at the cove.
We don't know who was more excited to see the gorgeous scenery and the seals! There was one of the best sunsets I've ever seen. The walkway around the cove is so much fun.
A beautiful spot I hope to return to in the future.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ranked #1 for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is ranked #1 for a reason. It simply has THE best views in Southern California. Aside from trying to find parking, the cove is beautiful. We got some great pictures, enjoyed the ocean view from the cliffs, and watched the impressive little ground squirrels that burrow in the hills. We spent the afternoon there just taking it all in. It's a great spot for a picnic. If you're in San Diego, you need to drive up to La Jolla to see this. It's worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A nice park for a walk, seal-watching, and just relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I was recently in La Jolla for a business trip and found myself up early each day before my meetings. The weather and air in La Jolla are so pleasant that I couldn't wait to get outside each day. La Jolla is a great little town and the park is a nice part of that. There are lots of nice walking paths, green grass to spend some time relaxing, great rocks with small pools of water that host great little bits of crabs and marine life, and seals laying on the rocks. You can do a lot in this area, or very little depending on your mood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla Cove also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.