We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Cove

La Jolla Cove
1100 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Improve this listing
Visit La Jolla Cove like an insider
Special Offer
$80*
and up
Go San Diego Card
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in La Jolla
Activities: Snorkeling, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, diving and snorkeling. The water is calm and the cove is ecologically protected. There is also a world famous dive site that is located in the La Jolla ecological preserve.
Hillsdale, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found this area by accident actually. Our 4 year old grandson wanted to take a walk after dinner at a local restuarant and insisted we walk down to the beach. We were so surprised when we found ourselves at the cove.
We don't know who was more excited to see the gorgeous scenery and the seals! There was one of the best sunsets I've ever seen. The walkway around the cove is so much fun.
A beautiful spot I hope to return to in the future.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,064
    767
    158
    49
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ranked #1 for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is ranked #1 for a reason. It simply has THE best views in Southern California. Aside from trying to find parking, the cove is beautiful. We got some great pictures, enjoyed the ocean view from the cliffs, and watched the impressive little ground squirrels that burrow in the hills. We spent the afternoon there just taking it all in. It's a great spot for a picnic. If you're in San Diego, you need to drive up to La Jolla to see this. It's worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A nice park for a walk, seal-watching, and just relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I was recently in La Jolla for a business trip and found myself up early each day before my meetings. The weather and air in La Jolla are so pleasant that I couldn't wait to get outside each day. La Jolla is a great little town and the park is a nice part of that. There are lots of nice walking paths, green grass to spend some time relaxing, great rocks with small pools of water that host great little bits of crabs and marine life, and seals laying on the rocks. You can do a lot in this area, or very little depending on your mood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A small area called the gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Don't expect a big place to visit here but it is quite beautiful. The area has a nice walk way along the ocean, the beach is quite small, in fact packed wall to wall people in the summer. Fairly good snorkeling year round.Nice beach shop up the hill to visit with a cool staircase to walk down into a cave.Small fee to use it.In the back is a nice path behind some private homes with excellent views, makes you want to move there if you can afford it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have been here several times and will always return. The views of the ocean, cove, cliffs, and seals are stunning!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jolla Cove also viewed

 

Been to La Jolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.