We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in La Jolla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pantai Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pantai Inn to your Saves list
Pantai Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best location in La Jolla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in Suite 208 and it was beautiful. The view from the large balcony and living area is
unbeatable. Everything was beautifully decorated with the Bali theme and the staff could not
have been more accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach, shopping
and great restaurants. They have a great breakfast and eating it on your balcony overlooking
the ocean could not be better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    31
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
155
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is luxury B&B that precedes itself. You could not ask for a better location. This resort is not in a secluded area. There are restaurants, shopping, art galleries and churches all within a walking distance.
The Pantai Inn is a stunning place made even more beautiful by their picturesque landscaping. The grounds are immaculately groomed with beautiful plants and coy pond.
My room 208 has a wonderful shoreline view, exceptionally spacious lavish bathroom and full kitchen with all the amenities you could want or need.

In conclusion, as first time guests, all of my expectations were met beyond our imaginations and I left the Pantai Inn with many unforgettable experiences. Thank you to the entire staff team: Amanda, Cathy, Ryan, and Victoria for being so attentive and helpful. I had an absolutely fantastic time!

Room Tip: room 208 Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I paid a lot to get this villa, but it really worth it; helpful staff, free breakfast, coffe and tea at lobby, free breakfast, complimentary bottle of wine, few steps from ocean, clean and comfortable, cuzy but fits all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week for 2 nights. We had a king size ocean view suite. the location of the hotel was really great. It is across the street from a beach, the sea lions were right there. The balcony was a great spot to relax and people watch, oh and check out the ocean!
The room itself was great. The decor was beautiful and they paid great attention to detail when remodeling. The staff was very welcoming and friendly too. I liked the snacks they had in the lobby. They also put out several breakfst items in the morning. The hotel is steps away from the downtown area. We walked to the gym, shopping and walked to dinner and breakfast too. Would definitely return to this place and have already recommended it to friends back home

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having stayed at this place before, and enjoying ourselves, we tried again this year. This time, very different!! The front end staff harassed my wife, then blatantly overcharged us on our room. Ryan even told me "we obviously don't gouge our customers" He seems like a nice guy, but not very smart when it comes to our emotional attachment to our wallets. We are VERY easy to please, and not easy to enrage, this was well beyond my tolerance level. They screwed the wrong guy. I will say, the support staff was wonderful, but I can safely say we will never return. We should have taken the soap to wash the bad taste out of our mouths, but we have more integrity and dignity than the Pantaii Inn.

Room Tip: I can't in good conscience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane P, General Manager at Pantai Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Given the reality of circumstances, we do not appreciate this erroneous review of your recent stay at Pantai Inn. You know perfectly well that the alleged "overcharge" you reference was a more than reasonable cleaning fee. This was explained and acknowledged at the time of your departure by your threatening extortion to write such a review.
At the time you made the reservation and upon registration, as well as having stayed at Pantai Inn previously, you are fully aware of the no pet and no smoking policy which you chose to blatantly disregard. So that readers understand how abundantly clear this is, our policy is clearly stated in the confirmation email, on our website and on the registration card which you signed at check in. The cleaning fee you misrepresented as an overcharge did not even come close to covering the enormity of costs to clean the room of pet odor, dander, hairs and smoke damage. In addition, your disregard disrupted the enjoyment of the arriving guest who had to be relocated to another suite.
So that we do not gloss over this fee, the cleaning fee not only covers the additional man hours needed to deep clean the room but because that room then has to be taken out of inventory, we incur the cost of potential lost revenue. Upon inspecting the room, our Housekeeping Manager found dog hair covering the floors and furniture. Because we advertise ourselves as a non-pet friendly property, we have guests that do have specific allergies to pet dander. An outside company was called in to deep clean the room and the cost actually exceeded the charge you are referring to and does not include the loss of the room for that night.
Pantai Inn’s 5-Star reputation assures every guest experiences perfect cleanliness as if being the very first guest to occupy their suite. Our standard for cleaning each and every room is to leave it looking as though it is a brand new room for the next guest that checks in. Lastly, as it regards the alleged "harassment" of your wife by our very sweet front desk associate, be aware that we have video footage of the encounter with your wife agreeing to the charge and no indication of a negative encounter. We also have video footage of your dog. It is our goal to ensure events like this do not occur. We have made that easy by clearly articulating our vision and policies that protect that vision. You, on the other hand, chose to play victim when in fact, you were the proximate cause of all difficulties attached to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, could of stayed longer, as it was so nice and relaxing, Our room #208 was right on the front overlooking the Ocean. We had a huge balcony, with comfy seating, and layed there and watched people walk by in the park, kids playing, seals barking, pelicans flying formation, and taking in the ocean breeze.

Our room was well appointed with a nice kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, and a living room that gave us the same view, as sitting outside.

The staff was excellent, and a special thanks to Ryan, who was always asking if we needed anything, how was our day, etc....super person.

We used our car to hit San Diego one day, but other than that, you can walk up to the Village, and lots of shops, restaurants, and bars to pass away the day (thats if we could get off our killer deck).

On our arrival we were informed they were having a fund raiser/silent auction for World Music. They were setting up a stage (which was right below our bedroom window) for musicians from different parts of the globe. Talk about having a front row seat. Oh, and the staff, did say if it got to loud to let them know. (We have a son who plays in a band) No worries.

The music was a highlight, and it carried on to the park in front of us the following day, with more performers, food, displays, and a whole bunch of happy people in the audience.

All in all, a great and comfortable place. Oh the Continental breakfast was excellent.

Would we go back? In a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 208 for the killer deck and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, Usa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I would highly tell all my friend to stay there. The location was perfect....food, shops and rage ocean steps away. The staff was great especially Amanda. Our room was perfect from the bathroom to the living room. We Ben had contact with the wonders and general manager.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or a ocean room or two bedroom, be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pantai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantai Inn

Address: 1003 Coast Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pantai Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional boutique hotel masterfully blends Bali's old-world charm, kingly comforts, and cutting-edge technologies. Reminiscent of the tranquil retreats of the Indonesian island, Pantai Inn offers the essence of Bali with richly appointed suites and ocean views. No two rooms are alike, each decorated with custom furnishings, art, wood and stone carvings, all hand-chosen and imported from Bali. Most notably, Pantai Inn exudes the purest form of luxury. This paradise is your gateway to experience Bali's most revered traits...the highest standards of genuine, friendly and welcoming hospitality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pantai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.