We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good casual lunch fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Mori

Sushi Mori
2161 Avenida De La Playa, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-3215
858-551-8481
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,263 Restaurants in La Jolla
Restaurant details
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good casual lunch fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to grab a casual bite at this Sushi place after doing a bike tour of La Jolla. Was nice to eat outside along the street and see everyone walking by. A local favorite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Had the teriyaki bento - which had some fab vegetable tempura. Sashimi was out of this world.
Good location, nice service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“ooooh yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

sitting outside, if only it had a beach view.. inside was a bit warm so we sat on the street had delicious fresh well mad sushi. The biggest plus is the biggest concern...the rolls way too many to choose between. on the mixed sushi plates the chef was willing to exclude things that you didnt like (for example I cant stand eel or shrimp) and they kept it out. Similarly in the Chirashi bowl they excluded things that were not liked.
great stuff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Sushi Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a dinner here during our stay
in beautiful, quite hilly, La Jolla. Our service was excellent - kind and prompt, sushi was delicious and beautifully plated. Loved the roll with baby lobster on top. Was SO good and so tender. We had four specialty rolls and loved them all! Loved the garden patio atmosphere, especially when the string lights turne on. The rolls, house cold sake (served in cool vase and with tiny ceramic cups), and a beer for $50. Really a good meal for a great price! Thanks Sushi Mori!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious, High-quality, Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner here; the restaurant doesn't look like much but the food was outstanding quality, and incredibly tasty. The only thing we didn't like were the green mussels - mussels cooked in hoisin and topped with more seafood. The mussels were overcooked, dry and stringy, and even apart from that didn't do anything for the dish. But the sashimi and maki were just excellent. We plan to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Mori also viewed

La Jolla, San Diego
 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Sushi Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Mori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.