We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rome, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel! We stayed 7 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. Valet parking was great and housekeeping was top notch. I only wish that we could have been given more wash cloths. We had plenty of towels but only 3 wash cloths and 4 guests. This is something all hotels really need to work on so I still give 5 stars!! Beautiful location. Easy to find. It's very close to I5. Will definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    237
    86
    32
    13
See reviews for
140
166
27
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Flew out to meet my wife while she worked in San Diego and stayed at the Hilton in beautiful La Jolla. Massive, elegant hotel situated right in front of the Torrey Pines South Course. Gorgeous hotel with a gorgeous sunset view. Be sure to check out the Gliderport cliffs just to the south.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed four days at the Hilton and were very pleased with it. I had joined my spouse at the end of a business meeting and we were able to get the corporate rate for our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The beds were excellent and the bedding was great quality. Although there was a large wedding party while we were there, we never were disturbed by noise or crowding. We liked having a Starbucks in the lobby as an alternative to the full breakfast offered by the hotel in the dining room. The dining room has a full bar and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a lovely terrace overlooking the pool and a view of the ocean and golf course where you can have a drink or a meal. The food was okay but nothing special. The property is within walking distance of the Torrey Pine Preserve. There is valet parking or you can park your car in their garage all for a fee. Most hotels in the area charge for parking. I would recommend this hotel for the comfort and the views, as well as the access to hiking trails. It's a short drive from the freeway and we found it a relaxing location after driving around sight seeing in San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn W, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the views of the ocean and Torrey Pines Golf Course. It is wonderful to hear you were able to check out the nearby hiking trails at Torrey Pines State Reserve. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The HIlton Torrey pines is a beautiful property . Almost all the rooms can has an oeanview.
I come almost every year for my birthday. The staff is accomadating and very friendly .
The room are very nice Andy well appointed . I enjoy the happy hour at the sports bar , good value. This is a very relaxing place to stay for a night or a week. Very close by to all major sites of San Degio.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the pool rooms as they can be loud .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn W, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are glad you had a relaxing stay with us and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed Happy Hour at Torreyana Lounge. Happy Birthday and we can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Take it as you will but after traveling for 10 Hours from the east coast and getting in late I was angry. First of all it is ridiculous that a Hilton of this caliber has no vending machine or somewhere to get a snack or beverage past 11:00pm. I was looking for a snack after traveling all day on Friday when I arrived at the hotel at 10:30pm, all I had was 2 bottles of water. After going to my room and then searching for a machine I headed to the front desk. I asked the agent at the desk where I could find a vending machine and she said we don't have them. I replied your kidding and her response in her smug voice was does it look like I'm kidding? I was shocked at her response and was speechless for a moment. I then asked to speak with the supervisor and after speaking with her she was able to go to Banquets and get me 3 cans of soda which she gave them complimentary. She also stated that she would be awarding me 10,000 points. Which ok so you gave me points and 3 cans of soda. I don't want anything else but I need to know how can a property of that size and location not have anything for their guests once the shop closes? I have never been to a property that doesn't sell some sort of snack at the front desk. I will not return to that property anytime soon. I am scheduled to be at Torrey Pines in September and I can tell you I won't be staying there. I will most likely take myself to the Hilton Del Mar.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn W, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the poor level of service you encountered at the front desk while staying at our hotel. We will take your comments regarding snacks under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Again, we sincerely apologize and assure you that your business is of great importance to us. We hope you will consider staying with us again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved sitting out by the pool, enjoying the view of the golf course and beyond. Beautiful setting for the pool with plants, lounge chairs and lots of space to relax without being packed like sardines. Pool area, though, DID NOT have poolside food/drink service but you can go up to the outside patio that sits just up the stairs above the pool for a nice outdoor lunch. Hotel is adjacent to several trail options for hiking and biking with maps provided at front desk and concierge station. Views on trails were great and trails are relatively flat overlooking coast so a nice hike. Hotel room was nicely appointed but some of the fixtures needed to be attended to and reported that to front desk. Wasn't a big deal but just more of an attention to detail item. No resort fee (YEA) but there is a self parking fee and WIFI fee which I find frustrating.. Would definitely stay here again. Also, very very close to lots of restaurant options in Torrey Pines and La Jolla.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn W, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed relaxing by the pool overlooking Torrey Pines Golf Course and hiking at the nearby Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve. The views from both are spectacular! We understand the cost of parking and Wi-Fi frustrated you. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We can't wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were there for a conference. Of course, golf was involved, so all the golfers loved the hotel, and who can blame them? It is a beautiful location right on a beautiful golf course. We took advantage of the hotel's proximity to Torrey Pines State Park several times, which was also a wonderful perk. The pool area is lovely and there were always towels available any time I was there. The fitness room is well stocked with a variety of machines.

That being said, the hotel could improve its service, especially given the expectations that travellers have when staying in a Hilton property. When we arrived around 1 pm in the afternoon, which I acknowledge is before check in time, we were informed that the hotel was closed for a private function until 3 p.m. We were not allowed to leave our bags or even enter the property.
So, after a 5 hour flight and an hour's drive, we had to find another place to go without even a chance to freshen up. Luckily the town of La Jolla is nearby and lovely. Changing from winter clothes into capris and a t-shirt while in the car wasn't awkward at all.

We had booked a room with a king sized bed, and when we arrived for the second time, closer to 4:30, we were told no king rooms were available and were offered a double bed room with a view instead. We were exhausted, so we took it. The "view" was a patch of bushes beyond which was a nice courtyard, but on the first floor all we could see were bushes.

There were numerous "little things" that affected my impressions as well, such as waiting too long for a restaurant bill, loud water pipes, public events with loud music outside our room, unpredictable housekeeping services, etc. If any one of those things had occurred I wouldn't think twice, but there were numerous things. It was not a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views and less noise from pipes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlyn W, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We apologize for the inconvenience upon your arrival and the numerous other issues you encountered during your stay, such as the slow restaurant service, the loud music, and the unpredictable housekeeping services. We understand your frustrations and we will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.