We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lounge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my husband come to the Hotel lounge for 20 years, I live in Del Mar and my husband used to work nearby..so I guess we can call ourselves "regulars".
Last year I had a back surgery that ended up with some complications so we didn't stop by at the hotel for 3 or 4 months. In January when I finally came back I was welcomed by our server Yula with the warmest hug, she seemed genuinely happy to see us and that made me feel special. She has been our waitress for several years and It was great to feel so welcomed in one of our favorite places. Thank you, Helen.

Room Tip: nice atmosphere
See more room tips
Green Features: We are only familiar with the restaurant...but this website requires me to write 50 characters , sorry I wish I could write more about it
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    220
    79
    29
    11
See reviews for
131
153
24
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was here in February for 4 days of meetings. The grounds and common areas are absolutely beautiful and the restaurant/bar are very nice. The rooms are a little dated. The worst thing was the lack of electrical outlets. I did discover that the nightstand had a "power strip" but it was hit or miss as to whether it would work or not. Staff was very nice, rooms were quiet. The sliding glass door was incredibly heavy and LOUD when opening and closing. Being from the Eastern Time Zone, I was usually up by 4 or 5 AM and liked to go out on the balcony to enjoy coffee. I probably woke up half the building (and got quite a work out) even as I attempted to quietly open and close the door.

Nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our property. We will share your review with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on personal business.

PROS:
Large rooms
Very clean
Comfortable beds
Decent linens
Plenty of hot water
Huge, oversized bath towels
Good bathroom amenities
Good bathroom lighting
Excellent, attentive customer service
Shuttle to nearest hospital (make sure you know which hospital you are going to; my hospital was further away and required two trips with Uber each day. Approximate cost $7)
Great deal to airport with EZShuttle - only $18 plus tip. Much less than a cab ride.
Well stocked gift shop onsite for sodas, snacks
Nice bar on first floor - very busy in the evenings
Pool, fitness center, coffee shop all available although I did not have time to use them
Large, wide screen HD television with decent channel selection
Iron and hair dryer both worked well
Balcony rooms available with pretty view


CONS:
Weak water pressure
Lousy shower head - seriously needs adjustment/replacement
Wifi is extra
In room fridge is not adjustable temperature wise and is only so-so at keeping things cold
Hilton Honors floor (4th) appears to be nothing special - no robes, etc.

I would absolutely stay again. Very quiet, got a great night's sleep. Excellent mattress/bed.

Don't hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, today
Thank you for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and had a comfortable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Hilton Torrey Pines for a business meeting. On the final night, the awards banquet was held. That evening was especially fun due to the fantastic and very professional service provided by our server, Ildiko Kelemen. Not only was her service very efficient, her personality and humor made for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, today
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your event. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent view of the ocean, the service great, we attended a magnificent wedding for my son and daughter in law and we stayed at the hotel. Everything was excellent, the cocktail hour at the pool and then the dinner at the salon. Food was great and open bar. Music everything they made for the couple was very satisfactory.

We had the photos taken outside the hotel, wonderful photos.

You are very close to La Jolla stores for shopping, dining, supermarket and everything in 5 min. by car.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, today
Congratulations on your son's wedding! We are so very happy to hear his wedding at our hotel was wonderful and memorable. We will share your review with our team. Say hello to the newlyweds for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are not golfers but appreciated the Beautiful view of the Torrey Pines golf course with the Pacific Ocean in the backdrop...breath taking sunsets! It was a short walk to the Torrey Pines State reserve where we accessed a trail head to some great hiking down to the beach and some stunning views. We are Hilton Honors members and were staying at this location for a family gathering of which many were not loyalty members. They noted the unexpected additional costs such as wifi and the breakfast buffet....which was plentiful and delicious (including an omelette chef) but was approx $25/person each day and quickly added up. As loyalty members we did not have these additional charges but it might be useful to be aware of them...

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, today
Thank you for your review Renea! We are happy your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Chose the Hilton Torrey Pines for a recent business trip to the La Jolla/San Diego area. This is certainly a good property with a nice feel in the common areas and rooms. I wasn't there to golf nor to visit the university - which I think are the only reasons that I would be back.

Location. Great if you're on vacation for golf or to visit UCSD. Otherwise, it's not located particular close to anything and is about 2 miles from I-5 and about a 15 minute drive from the shops/restaurants of La Jolla.

Layout. The self-park garage was far from the rooms. The hallways have low ceilings and, frankly, while nice, felt like a long dormitory hall. Take the stairs between floors - faster than the elevators. Room was nicely appointed, bed very comfortable and work area efficient (bring a flashlight to find the power outlets!).

Up-Charges. While not unique to nicer hotels, I am always dismayed at the price for self-parking at a suburban property - in this case +$26 per night. I parked on the 2nd level (which, btw, smelled like garbage day and night). Then there's the +$9.95 for the lowest level of wifi. So, that's +$36/nt on top of the price you see and compare to other properties.

Tried room service one night and the meal was good (just forgot the bread that was promised). The coffee bar in the lobby was fast, tasty and efficient.

Staff at the front desk were good although I would prefer 2 people there during peak times of morning and evening. I also had a maintenance issue in my room with no water pressure in the shower. Fixed itself one morning but on the morning of my quick departure, I couldn't take a shower. No time to call maintenance but I did report to the front desk upon check out.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, today
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We will share your review with our team in efforts to help improve the guest experience. We do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.