We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay for parents of UCSD students.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay for parents of UCSD students.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at Hilton Torrey Pines very much. It is situated beautifully and was just a 5 minute drive to our daughter at UCSD. The rooms are very spacious as well as the bathroom. The breakfast was good not great, the cocktails were very good and the burger is amazingly good! I don't normally eat burgers so it was a special thing and it was worth it. The gym has what you need but no foam rollers and only one matt. The treadmills and other cardio are great and they have pulleys as well as dumbbells. We enjoyed walking along the gulf course and loved the pool, although we didn't get to use it. I would have like free wifi in the room. Overall it was a great experience and we look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, the garden could go either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your stay with us on TripAdvisor! We are glad you found your stay at our hotel convenient to UCSD. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    164
    65
    21
    9
See reviews for
105
124
18
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed many times at the Torrey Pines Hilton and every time I have a new and better experience there. It's quiet and peaceful, When not at the site in San Diego I can get all my computer work done with the high speed wireless internet access. I have stayed at many San Diego hotels and this is by far my favorite.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the raving review! We are thrilled to hear your stays are productive and comfortable for business. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
's-Hertogenbosch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines a couple of days ago, and was not impressed by its service performance. The hotel is beautiful and location is superb, on a golf course and close to the coast. Probably the hotel has been renovated lately so the interior is great as well. However, the service was lacking. I came to the hotel and found that there were hairs (long black, definitely not mine) in the bathroom and the bed. I was exhausted from traveling so fell asleep and told the front desk the next morning, together with the tv that was not working (no good connection as it seemed to me). The woman at the front desk wrote it all down, apologized and offered me $50 off my first night because of it all and the assurance that it would all be taken care of. I left at 10.30am, came back by 2.30pm and went to the pool to return to the room by 5.30pm. The hairs were still in the bathroom and the tv not fixed.

I got the feeling that I was offered the $50 with idea "here is $50, now keep quiet". For a Hilton I find this unacceptable. I usually stay at the Starwood Hotels (Westin, Four Points, Sheraton) and have never seen this lack of service and follow-up there. At the Westin I got 5000 starpoints on day because I had no reception on the tv and even though it was fixed in 30 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and your comments will help us make it right moving forward. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ossining
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the moment we checked in the service was excellent. The front desk was prompt and courteous and made sure everything went smoothly. Room staff were friendly and efficient. Had the buffet breakfast which offered a good fresh selection with made to order eggs and omelets. Waiter both days was super attentive and friendly without any overbearing. Sunset view of the Pacific was perfect. Overall a great stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to find a package which includes wi-fi, parking and buffet breakfast. Al la carte gets pricey q...
See more room tips
Green Features: As most hotels today, they offer not changing the towels if so desired to save the enviornment.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent stay! We are thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We’ve already stayed here twice this year, first on Fourth of July weekend, then again just this past weekend.

Driving up to the hotel you might miss it, as the whole property is very unassuming and not very prominent. In fact, the building is only 4 stories tall, but you enter on the 3rd floor. The property is laid out in a rather long and sprawling configuration with the rooms distributed throughout four wings that finger out towards the golf course, the bluffs and the ocean beyond.

Parking is rather easy. There are a few short-term parking spots near the landscaped arbor across from the lobby for checking in, and a few other spaces near the tennis courts. The parking structure is just to the left of the main entrance and is connected to the main lobby floor via an underground entrance.

This place is typical for most Hilton properties: modern and luxurious appointments, furnishings, and décor. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The whole modern theme carries over into the bathrooms where you get that spa/resort feel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are lush and well-manicured.

First floor rooms have semi-private garden patios, while second floor rooms and up have balconies and are afforded partial ocean and golf course views. The suites at the ends of the wings have larger balconies/decks with unobstructed views. Please note: this is one of the few hotels that you can stay in where there is little risk of having a room with a view of a roof, brick wall, or parking lot.

We didn’t get to try the golf course, but we were at the pool the whole day. On our stay in July, iTunes artist Luke Williams performed on the veranda overlooking the pool for most of the afternoon, which just added to the already relaxing, easy-going vibe. When we first arrived, I had this initial sensation that we were in a “too upscale” hotel meant for upscale, older couples-like crowd (we are a family of four with two young children). My initial concerns were quickly allayed when we came upon the nice pool area. There were a mixed bunch of people throughout: older couples, young couples, and families with young and older children.

Overall this place is just easy: easy to move around, easy to relax, easy to get away from it all. It is a pleasant departure from all the busy-ness of downtown La Jolla.

Tip: The pool area is open until 11pm. It’s perfect for a nice warm and relaxing dip in the Jacuzzi just before bed time….

Room Tip: If you want a more quiet room, ask for the ones that don't overlook the pool area.
See more room tips
Green Features: The rooms have energy efficient, florescent light bulbs throughout that may sometimes be too harsh or industrial in other settings, but the Hilton executes this quite subtly with their liberal use of elegant lighting fixtures.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your 5 star stay with us on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. We do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A beautiful building on a hillside overlooking the Pacific ocean and a golf course. Clean, classy, upscale. Very friendly staff. Not family friendly in terms of pricing ($20 breakfast buffet, pay for WiFi). Our first floor room was convenient to the fitness center and pool/hot-tub deck. self park or valet for $25/$30. Starbucks in the lobby for that morning jolt. (We did not golf.) We happened across a weekend pricing special which made the stay affordable.

Room Tip: 4 levels. higher up has better view of the ocean. large place so you can be in for a long walk. our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! We are happy you enjoyed our coastal location on the golf course. We do offer family packages and packages that include parking and breakfast. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 4 days during a conference. Excellent food and service. I left behind my Iphone charger in the room. Called the Hotel after I returned home, hotel security found it and shipped it to me immediately without any charges. I am very impressed !

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are pleased our staff helped make your stay comfortable. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#4 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.