We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value. Stay somewhere else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
PASADENA, United States
1 review
“Not a good value. Stay somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Parking is too expensive. Better to pay more for a room at another place. No free wifi in your room. Wifi offered in lobby and cafe. Power plugs in room did not work. Coffee bar was not clean. Check in and check out was very slow. You have to drive to find a good place to dine. The place looked old and dated. I expected a better experience.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    154
    62
    21
    9
See reviews for
100
116
18
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Roa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was disappointed in this hotel stay. I was there for three nights for a conference. The staff service was excellent, but I felt the amenities were lacking. Single king bed rooms lack a bath-tub (shower only). There are no coffee makers in the rooms, which seems pretty cheap for a nicer hotel. I just wanted a nice cup of tea in the evening without having to call up room service. The conference rooms were spread out on opposite sides of the property, requiring us to be herded back and forth, through the middle of the restaurant to get to the various conference sessions.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had the awesome opportunity to stay at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines. The staff greeted me as soon as I walked in and during check in the staff was nice enough to find me a room that would allow me to do some work and still relax. The gym was very clean and bigger than most hotel gyms, the breakfast was perfect and the staff was very prompt. I will definitely be staying here again. Thanks for the amazing service.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

One of my favorite places in the world! The view everywhere is awesome. Great breakfast, if in a hurry there's a quick coffee bar by the lobby. Valet parking service very comfortable. Bring a jacket for the afternoons, it gets windy in winter. But weather is always perfect in California. Golf is around the corner. Enjoy beautiful San Diego.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary this past weekend and had room 3019. First off the room was advertised as having a "dining area" but it did not. (Unless they were referring to the table and chairs on the balcony, which is misleading). We were happy with our balcony however and looked forward to watching the sunset from it and having a glass of wine while enjoying some peace and quiet. On Saturday night, just when we went to view the sunset we noticed a set-up for a wedding reception outside and below our room. Who in the management did not consider how this would inconvenience the other guests at the hotel? While we were happy for the bride and groom it completely altered our plans for our own celebration--we could hear the loud music and loudspeaker from inside our room as well and it was almost 10:30 pm before the party was moved inside--we are paying guests too. When we complained to the gentleman at the desk at checkout he remarked that none of the other patrons had complained, totally invalidating the way we felt. So while the hotel may be nice you can't always be guaranteed you're going to have the nice time you planned on. I have found this to be true at this hotel over and over again, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the pavilions where there are weddings and parties
See more room tips
Green Features: They say they have efficient ventilation but they need fans in the bathrooms. It gets too hot after a shower.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted. I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of handling guest’s needs. I hope that you will be our guest again the next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came for three day conference with my wife. In casual conversation we mentioned my wife's birthday was the next day to Mia who signed us in. Next day my wife had four mini cupcakes with candles with two mini bottles of sparkling wine show up in room with handwritten note from Mia! A packet of matches was even included! Next two nights were served by Mandy in the Torreyana Grill who took extra special care of us and was so very pleasant to talk to. My wife wasn't sure how comfortable she was going to feel at such a nice place, but all the staff (especially Mia and Mandy) made her feel very welcome and at ease. The conference was great too by the way!! The pool area is amazing to hang out at.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank for your 5 star review!! We are thrilled your wife enjoyed her birthday stay with us and we will share your kind words with our staff. See you next time. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Found this hotel last minute on KAYAK.com. From when we arrived to when we left service was brilliant. Rooms spacious and spotless. We had a late dinner at Torreyana where the food was AMAZING and Mandy our hostess could not of helped us anymore. She offered suggestions on food and some great places to visit on our way up the coast. If we had the time we would love to have stayed longer. All in all great all round hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled you found our hotel relaxing and comfortable. We look forward to your next stay with us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.