We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is what makes a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Save Saved
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The service is what makes a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 5 nights and the service at the hotel was one of the best we've experienced. The hotel was our home base while visiting the area for the first time. Relatively close to San Diego proper but was also close to other areas we wanted to explore (Legoland, Del Mar, La Jolla, etc.).

What made our trip awesome was the service at the hotel (front desk, bellmen, restaurant, etc.). A special shout out to Andrea, Jeff and Saul at the front desk and Lynda and Dean (concierge) as they accommodated us and helped us out with anything we needed.

We got a package that included the breakfast and although the breakfast was very good, they could use a bit of changing up every now and then as they had the same buffet every morning. Don't get me wrong, it was great but maybe a little variety would be helpful.

Other than that, the pool was awesome and very relaxing and refreshing; the restaurant for lunch and dinner was great and the room itself was clean and very spacious. We had a view overlooking the pool and golf course and it was fantastic.

Yes, parking is a bit expensive but we parked in the street down the block and it wasn't so bad.

For us, the service is what makes a hotel and I can truly say that these guys are the best around!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and the golf course in building 3. It's the building that sticks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    143
    59
    18
    9
See reviews for
94
102
16
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We shared a night @ this fabulous hotel about 10 k's from San Diego overlooking The Torrey Pines Golf Course & The Atlantic Ocean.
Plenty of parking & free Wifi in the lobby.
Breakfast downstairs was excellent & was mainly serve one self.
An easy drive to The Old Town & The Waterfront areas.
Easy access to the Freeway heading North or South.
70/80 minutes to LAX,where we were heading to access our Qantas flight back to Australia.
We had a large room with a view of the Golf Course & The Atlantic Ocean.
Well recommended to golfers particularly.

Room Tip: Wifi available in the lobby. Excellent large rooms. Great views of the Golf Course. Request a roo...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is an excellent idea & should be applauded & delivered by other similiar establishments
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent a couple of nights here when visiting attractions in San Diego. It's 5 min off the freeway and around 10 min to La Jolla and 25 min to San Diego Zoo which we also visited. The accommodations, public areas and service are top notch, with the whole place having a real upscale and stylish feel to it. The swimming pool area is also really good with modern and well maintained sun beds and gazebos readily available. We ate out each night (you have to drive as there isn't a restaurant within walking distance) although there is an on-site restaurant and bar. Wasted on us, as we're non-golfers, there is a golf course to the rear of the hotel. If you get a room facing the ocean, you'll have the golf course in the fore front with the ocean behind - very pleasant. Our room had 2 queen sized beds as well as a writing desk area and a lounger chair, so everything we needed. We booked through hotels.com and good a good rate which included free parking ($25 per night otherwise) and free buffet breakfast ($20 per person otherwise). The breakfast was good with a wide variety of cereals, fruit, juices, toast etc. as well as hot items - eggs, bacon, sausage and made to order omelettes. We had a small plumbing problem with our room which when reported was fixed very quickly and they gave us free internet access in our room (without asking) which was a fantastic gesture. The hotel does have free wifi in the lobby area in any case, but normally wifi in your room is an extra cost unless you have it included as part of a special bundle rate or are an Honours Club member (which we weren't). We can recommend this hotel to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are happy you enjoyed our location and our hotel. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 3 visited this hotel in August of 2014. My husband was pleasantly surprised he was able to get a tee time to golf, I had no idea how hard it was to secure a tee time when I made our hotel reservation last minute. He golfed during the 'twilight' time and it was very reasonable.

The room was okay, even though it was a slight upgrade (since we are diamond members), it wasn't anything spectacular, but it was clean and the beds were very comfy. The view was of a courtyard area and a little bit of the golf course. My husband travels a lot for work and he was even more disapointed in the room since he is used to being upgraded.

The bathroom had no exhaust fan, which is disgusting. I mean, come on....multiple people using the bathroom and taking hot showers with no exhaust fan ?!?!

I got absolutely no cell phone service in our room, service was very spotty, I tried multiple times to call out with my cell phone and the calls dropped every time.

I loved the sliding glass door and 2 chairs where we could sit outside on the balcony. The pool and spa area was very nice.

The restaurant was overpriced...we went there for a late dinner after swimming. I ended up asking if they had a menu with sandwiches because nothing sounded good off the dinner menu.

The restaurant and manager were WONDERFUL with our special requests. Our daughter has a severe peanut/nut allergy and they were great. Cooking her food special to ensure no cross contamination and also again at breakfast. They cooked her food all in the back instead of getting it off the breakfast bar to ensure her safety.

I would HIGHLY recommend that the management remove the entire container of peanut butter on the breakfast bar and replace it with the small individual serving sizes of peanut butter (2 tbls I believe).
With them having a huge open container of peanut butter on the breakfast bar, it cross contaminates EVERYTHING up there. (fruit, eggs, meat, etc) For someone allergic to nuts, this is a nightmare.
All it takes is someones peanut butter to end up on something else and you have someone going into Anaphylactic shock and possibly dying.

We drove up to the beach at Torrey pines park. It was $12 to park and was a very nice beach.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor. We value your review and will be sharing it with our staff. We look forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Park, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently my girlfriend and I took a week long vacation at the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines. Everything from the ambiance to the comfort was top notch. One aspect that really stood out was the great service. We needed some general assistance a few times during our stay and Jodi at the front desk was amazing. Not only did she kindly meet all of our needs, but she went above and beyond our high expectations. We sincerely appreciated her excellence!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the fabulous 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your vacation with us and our staff helped make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked in for one night The property is beautiful - you might pretend you're in Hawaii Room was large and comfy Would definitely stay there again! We did not dine at the restaurant so cannot comment on that

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as a family on the tail end of our vacation. Location was fantastic and hotel was very good. Great view of ocean from property and very close to Torrey Pines Golf Course. Used the pool and the tennis courts - both fun for the kids. Rooms were very nice - comfortable with nice bathroom. Beds were good, but not anything special. Overall would recommend this hotel due to location and to value for the money

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that your family enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;