We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a basic chain motel, nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More like a basic chain motel, nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Service was friendly and location is nice, close to Torrey Pines golf. Hotel rooms are only like an average hotel, not worth the price. I booked this hotel so that we could book golf at Torrey Pines, but found their fee too high. I called and reserved my own tee times directly and got a better price and time. We would not choose too stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am pleased to learn that you received friendly and efficient service throughout your stay and that you enjoyed our serene and relaxing location overlooking the Torrey Pines Golf Course and the Pacific Ocean. I am sincerely sorry that there were some aspects of your stay that you would have liked to be different but I do hope that you reconsider and choose to stay with us again for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    193
    73
    26
    11
See reviews for
117
135
20
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pretty hotel is a nice place to stay an in a great location. If you are a Golfer this spot is for you but missing small amenities that should be free. Pay for access WiFi, parking was an additional 20 dollars a night and no microwaves in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was there on a business conference trip. The room was large, the beds were comfortable, but the hotel felt a little old in the hallways. Noise from hallways were pretty loud. There wasn't enough area to accommodate people for meals for convention so I had room service most days which ended up being much easier than dealing with long lines and less than appealing food choices. (this could have been the fault of poor planning on the event directors and not the hotel) I did expect the hotel to be a little more high end, but it was a business trip, so I could overlook. I would not plan a vacation there unless I was there to golf. Beautiful views of the ocean and sunset from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

For such a beautiful hotel, well kept, the dining experiece was the worst I have ever seen. Friends drove down from Los Angeles to enjoy a nice quiet experience looking over the ocean. Little did I know that the hotel allows kids to run through the restaurant yelling at each other and yelling from the staircase. I should have picked up with my guests and left because it got worse. NOT a great $300 experience.

Room Tip: Management told me they like to cater to families when asking them about this scene in the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel as well as our beautiful grounds and location. I am sincerely sorry to hear that your dining experience was not what you were hoping for and that you were disturbed during your dinner. I want to let you know that we don’t want any of our guests to be inconvenienced at any time and I am very sorry that your evening was not the relaxing one you were hoping for. I will be sure to relay your feedback to my team for review and consideration. I do hope that this one experience does not keep you from coming back to visit us in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a business geared hotel so usually the pool is either free of kids or not many, which is nice for adults. Great location between La Jolla and Del Mar and great for hiking in the Torrey Pines Reserve next door. Also do not miss going to watch the paragliders at the Gliderport nearby. It is mesmerizing to watch. The staff were all extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Only reason I don't give it an excellent is because it isn't a super luxurious resort, but it is very clean with good food and room amenities. And again, great location. Great patio to eat outside on overlooking golf course and horizon ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great venue, super place to relax and unwind. A bit expensive but worth it. The hotel is within walking distance of the Torrey Pines Golf Course which is especially nice. Breakfast buffet is fabulous with all one can imagine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us. I am pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the property. I am happy to hear that you felt very relaxed and comfortable throughout your visit and that you appreciated our location situated right on the Torrey Pines Golf Course with beautiful views of the Pacific Ocean. I’m delighted to learn that you loved our delicious breakfast buffet at Torreyana Grille and that you had a pleasant visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

this hotel was stunning with it's ocean view right from the lobby to the pool and golf course. the staff was very friendly and service was efficient. I love hiltons they are always clean and very spacious. I will definitely be recommending Torrey Pines La Jolla to all friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel including the beautiful views and grounds of the property. I am delighted to learn that you found all the team members friendly and accommodating and your accommodations clean and comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.