We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be terrific but isn't” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thousand Oaks, United States
1 review
“Should be terrific but isn't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is in a great location but does not have access to the beach. It has a pool but it is not heated. It has a wonderful outdoor lounge and bar area but it is not staffed. New management is required for this hotel to be where it should be. The rooms were large and very nice and the bathroom was terrific. Also, Internet is 15.99 per day, per device. Ouch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. I am glad to know that you loved the location of the property atop the bluffs of La Jolla, adjacent to the Torrey Pines Golf Course and overlooking the Pacific Ocean. For future reference, some of the most beautiful beaches in California are located just a short drive from the property for easy access. Also, our outdoor pool is actually heated year-round for our guest’s enjoyment. During your next visit, you are more than welcome to use the complimentary wifi located in all our common areas for your convenience. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    194
    73
    26
    11
See reviews for
117
136
20
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and convenient to getting into LaJolla- Prospect Rd. It's about a 10 minute drive to get to Prospect Rd and the cove. The hotel is clean and has all amenities. It is also next to Torrey Pines Golf Course.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the property and that you appreciated our convenient location close to downtown La Jolla with a variety of shops and restaurants and adjacent to the famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, Ca, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had gone there for a B-Day for my wife, and family we got 2 rooms that's already expensive. When we got there to our room I already noticed this isn't what I asked for so I called the front desk all they keep telling me is this is what I had asked for. They didn't try to resolve anything and Hilton did nothing wrong and didn't comp me nothing even though I had gotten 2 rooms for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us for your wife’s birthday celebration. I am sincerely sorry that upon your arrival the guest rooms that you received were not what you had originally booked and that there was some confusion regarding the reservation. I am also very sorry that when bringing this issue to our front desk team, they were unable to accommodate you with the guest room you requested. I would like to speak with you further regarding this situation to see what we can do to resolve the issue. Can you please email katie.ellison@hilton.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. You can see the beach from your room (if you squint). It backs up to a golf course. The weather is beautiful, with a cool breeze flowing off the Pacific. Even though it is in hot San Diego, the weather is about 80 degrees. The hotel is clean and well kept. The pool is beautiful and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderfully thorough review and for choosing to stay with us on your recent getaway. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the beautiful views and ocean breezes our location has to offer. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our amazing pool and that you found all the staff friendly and accommodating throughout your stay. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went for a wedding celebration, staying several nights. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. And the venue for the wedding was amazing! Only negative comments I have are regarding the washroom; shower head size and water pressure are inadequate for how large and beautiful the shower itself is, and the cleanliness (or lack of) of the hair dryer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place to relax, do some hiking to go to beach, play golf, or just relax in the pool. But you need to drive to eat out, since it is surrounded only by medical labs and hospitals. Our room faced the pool, golf course, and the Pacific! As a gold member, there is free continental breakfast. You have to add $7 for full breakfast. Parking is $25/day so it's like paying for another day in our stay. They had a business reception by the pool one night which played loud music, but abruptly stopped at 9 pm. The coast was always cloudy while we were there. Eventhough it was hot and clear inland, it got foggy and cloudy as we drove in to Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel a great place to kick back and relax. I am glad to know that you loved our delicious breakfast buffet and that you were impressed with the views of the pool, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Pacific Ocean right from your guest room. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location, great weather, amazing views of the golf course and the ocean. Conveniently located in La Jolla to shopping and food. Self parking was difficult at times during the weekend due to the increased number of patrons. A lot of activities close to the hotel and very good recommendations for food, recreation, and entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us on your La Jolla getaway. I am delighted to learn that you loved the location of the property nestled in the La Jolla hills and directly adjacent to the famous Torrey Pines Golf Course overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I am pleased to know that you appreciated the service and recommendations you received from our team members during your stay and that you had a memorable visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.