We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Bash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Save Saved
You added Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
“Wedding Bash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went for a wedding celebration, staying several nights. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. And the venue for the wedding was amazing! Only negative comments I have are regarding the washroom; shower head size and water pressure are inadequate for how large and beautiful the shower itself is, and the cleanliness (or lack of) of the hair dryer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    151
    60
    20
    9
See reviews for
100
111
16
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place to relax, do some hiking to go to beach, play golf, or just relax in the pool. But you need to drive to eat out, since it is surrounded only by medical labs and hospitals. Our room faced the pool, golf course, and the Pacific! As a gold member, there is free continental breakfast. You have to add $7 for full breakfast. Parking is $25/day so it's like paying for another day in our stay. They had a business reception by the pool one night which played loud music, but abruptly stopped at 9 pm. The coast was always cloudy while we were there. Eventhough it was hot and clear inland, it got foggy and cloudy as we drove in to Torrey Pines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel a great place to kick back and relax. I am glad to know that you loved our delicious breakfast buffet and that you were impressed with the views of the pool, Torrey Pines Golf Course, and Pacific Ocean right from your guest room. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location, great weather, amazing views of the golf course and the ocean. Conveniently located in La Jolla to shopping and food. Self parking was difficult at times during the weekend due to the increased number of patrons. A lot of activities close to the hotel and very good recommendations for food, recreation, and entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us on your La Jolla getaway. I am delighted to learn that you loved the location of the property nestled in the La Jolla hills and directly adjacent to the famous Torrey Pines Golf Course overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I am pleased to know that you appreciated the service and recommendations you received from our team members during your stay and that you had a memorable visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great view and amenities. Service was excellent. Unfortunately, our room was not ready until after 17:00, and our neighbor was quite noisy at 3:00 am in the morning. We found out that there were four wedding parties happening on that weekend. Perhaps that has something to do with our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't like Hiltons in general, but that's a rant for another day. This hotel was nice despite being a Hilton. The basic rooms were very generously sized, with a small balcony. The rooms were nice and quiet and the bedding comfortable, so I slept well. It looks like the rooms were recently refreshed, with big flat screen TVs and a functional work area; overall it was a comfortable stay.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's looking over the Torrey Pines golf course, and you're within walking distance of the stunning views from the state preserve. It's relaxing to see such nice scenery out your window. If you're in town for business, you also have easy access to major freeways and all the companies in the La Jolla/UTC area. If you're driving though, be prepared to pay a high price for parking -- $25/ night I think.

If you don't like staying in hotels where there are a lot of conference attendees, then this isn't the place for you; there are seemingly always conferences here.

With my friend's diamond status, we had vouchers to redeem at the lobby Starbucks, which was nice. Well the coffee was good, but the food was not. Choices were limited, and the woman behind the counter totally destroyed the breakfast sandwich I ordered by nuking the hell out of it. Despite this, service was good overall. It felt like the staff were very scripted and not genuine (e.g. repeating three times that we had an upgraded room -- "take the elevators on the left to your upgraded room"), but at least they made an effort.

The hotel is far from perfect, but with the convenient location and beautiful views, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines is a big convention type hotel, but still very nice. Staff was very friendly. One complaint. The balcony had a soda bottle with water and cigarette butts in it. Clearly had not been cleaned. However, the room was nice and the amenities (lotion, shampoo, etc.) were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has been totally redone, everything new and shining. Try to get a room with view of golf course and water. Great value. Next to Torrey Pines Nature Preserve if your are into jogging or hiking. Away from the La Jolla beach crowd, but only a 10 minute drive there.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of goal course and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to know that you loved the property and that you truly enjoyed the beautiful views directly from your guest room. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines

Address: 10950 N Torrey Pines Rd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Jolla
#5 Family Hotel in La Jolla
#6 Spa Hotel in La Jolla
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back, relax, and enjoy one of the most spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean that Southern California has to offer. Nestled amongst the serene bluffs of La Jolla and overlooking the legendary Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers guests an unparalleled experience of luxury and charm. Located in the stunning seaside city of La Jolla, only 12 miles from the San Diego International Airport and close to the neighboring cities of Pacific Beach and Del Mar, guests will experience a feeling of seclusion in our enchanting oasis while still staying connected to the best San Diego has to offer. Take advantage of all the elegance and comfort the Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines has available within each one of our 394 oversized rooms. Unique to San Diego, all guestrooms include a private balcony or patio with exceptional panoramic views of the Torrey Pines Golf Course, gardens, and the breathtaking Pacific Ocean coastline. Indulge in some of our upgraded amenities such as 42” flat screen TVs, our new signature collection of Peter Thomas Roth® bath products, and high speed internet access. Guests can stimulate their palate at the acclaimed Torreyana Grille featuring a fusion of old world flavors with new world techniques from the Americas to the Pacific Rim, all while enjoying unforgettable sunsets. With true Hilton tradition in mind, incomparable customer service matches the stunning views. Whether your visit is business or pleasure, Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines offers an intimate experience for each and every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines Hotel La Jolla
Hilton Hotel La Jolla
La Jolla Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.