We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront, reasonable, quiet - a thorough review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beachfront, reasonable, quiet - a thorough review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here July 13-17 and had a pleasant stay, though check-in took a while because there seems to only ever be one person at the front desk. I had a floor level, garden-facing room (not beachfront), double beds. I was concerned because the entry door faces the street, but there is an inner door that separates the bathroom/kitchen area from the sleeping area, so at night, I didn't hear a thing. Only thing I didn't like was that I didn't actually have a private balcony, as boasted on the website. Instead, outside my sliding doors there were 2 patio chairs, sitting in the walkway. I did use them, but would have preferred more privacy than that because people were walking around me as I sat out there with my book, relaxing. Also, if I left my curtains open, anyone walking by could look in my room, which I didn't like. If you're on an upper floor you will have a private balcony, so if this matters to you, ask for it. The garden area has sitting areas and two ping pong tables, so there is traffic that goes through there regularly - and lots of kids running to the pool or beach.

There was a fridge and small coffeemaker, which came in handy. The hair dryer (sigh) was a small, foldable 1970's model. I have long hair so am always looking for a nice hair dryer. At any rate, it worked. The beds and pillows were comfortable, and the AC unit worked, though it was really loud and whoever sleeps in the bed next to it might freeze. The TV worked fine and my son hooked up his PS3 to the TV and everything worked well. The bathroom has ample space for all of your toiletries, as well as ample towels and robes, which were really comfortable. The room also has a safe, which is nice. The shampoo/conditioner smelled really nice.

The restaurant was expensive. I don't mind paying for a good meal, but the food was not all that, and too expensive for what you get. Ditto for the drinks. The "happy hour" drinks are $8, down from $12. That's not really a bargain, and no surprise that the bar was kind of empty when I went.

The hotel is conveniently located near local shops and restaurants, including a decent Mexican restaurant, and some surf shops where you can sign up for kayaking and/or surfing.

Lastly, this hotel is beachfront and if you look at the pictures on the website, it looks very romantic and secluded. In reality, the beach itself is very small, and gets VERY crowded fast with hotel guests, visitors from all around, and kayakers. The hotel staff will gladly set up chairs and umbrellas for you, but just know that you'll be crammed on the sand with 1,000 other tourists. It's just a small beach, no two ways about it. The park nearby was also very crowded. The hotel also has a pool and jacuzzi, but even though the jacuzzi had a sign that said "maximum capacity 5 persons," I never saw fewer than 12 people - adults and children - crammed in there, no way I was ever going to get in that (not joking - I counted).

All in all, it's a clean, safe, quiet bargain if you're looking for a beachfront hotel in So Cal. It's also near all the San Diego attractions if you're looking to get out and about, close to freeways and nearby is the beautiful Torrey Pines state park with gorgeous hikes that take you right down to the ocean.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground-level room, if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    162
    52
    29
    19
See reviews for
197
115
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

La Jolla Shore is a 5 star in my book as it is situated right on the beach. Staff was wonderful - They even delivered a special birthday cake to one of the members in our party. It is also walking distance to Kayak companies and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed 14-17JULY, 2014, the deluxe beachfront ocean view suite on the 3rd floor - best room in the hotel! The large balcony is wonderful and allows a wonderful view. The king bed was comfortable, but the sleeper sofa was a bit lacking. Our 18 yr old son chose the roll away bed that their staff quickly delivered to our room, instead. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are very nice, helpful and professional. They even set-out beach chairs and an umbrella! Room rates are pricey, but worth it, when you want to be right on the beach. The rooms need updating, so don't expect modern decor, but still pleasant enough. Our only "gripe?" The room did not have central air conditioning -- only a window box cooler, set close to the floor. An upgrade that is needed, and hopefully the property will take measures to do so soon. You're close to the lower La Jolla area w/ great restaurants and shops w/in walking distance. Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor of the southern building are best for ocean views. Room 335 was great and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

La Jolla Shores Hotel is a wonderful place to stay! It is located on the beach, and adjacent to a lovely park with a fun jungle gym for the kids. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the restaurant is great! There is also a delicious Italian restaurant walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent two nights in a beachfront king room. Absolutely, breathtaking to wake up each morning and have coffee over looking the beach! The room was comfortable, the staff friendly and accommodating, the hotel beautiful. Yes, it is a little pricey as compared with some of the other hotels, but if you want to stay in La Jolla on the beach this hotel is worth every penny!!! We were given umbrellas, beach chairs, and towels enough for ourselves and our guests when we had a small party with family and friends. The staff set up a BBQ, provided a picnic table, and amenities. The bar was relaxing for evening. There are little shops, a deli, places to rent kayaks, snorkel gear, surf boards, etc., along with a small market within walking distance. We will definitely make this a yearly trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Chuck who was in charge of the beach and pool recreation and his staff were awesome and super accommodating especially for being the Fourth of July weekend. They helped us with our beach and BBQ setup. They carried strollers and coolers on to the beach for us. They checked on us regularly and they did it all with a smile. We will definitely come back. The rooms are a little old but spacious and the beds are comfortable. The HH was great with great food and wine. This is a perfect setting for a relaxing hassle free family vacation.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent four nights in a beachfront king room. It was fantastic! From coffee on the balcony to walking the beach in the morning, every minute of our trip was great. The staff at La Jolla Shores is friendly and made staying there an easy and calm experience. The location on the beach can't be beat! It's also a short distance from Legoland, downtown La Jolla and many other beach towns, and close to Scripps Aquarium. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;