We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Spring Rates From $199
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location is perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was lovely. It was clean and absolutely beautiful, right on the beach.The plush landscaping was really nice and enjoyable. You are paying for location, the rooms are average. One small spa, and average size pool which are both overrun with kids nowdays. I suggest a room facing the beach. Even though the one we had was at the far left end so we had a constant view of kayak lessons every day. Hundreds of them, from very early until dusk. The first couple days it's cool- different and fun to watch, but by day 3 we would have just liked to see the water. The staff was good, no complaints. You just call the desk and they set up chairs and an umbrella in the sand for your enjoyment. The beach rooms are not private, this is a main drag for beach goers and people walk by all day and night, and can see in your room. The one complaint I have is the bed. It was like a lumpy bag of rocks. VERY uncomfortable, and cause pain in our back and hips from night one. Upon checkout I informed the desk and was told they had just replaced the foundations and mattresses. Not buying it. And if that were true, they got them from a cheap warehouse. I have stayed at many budget hotels with much more comfortable beds. What almost makes up for that(not quite) is the free shuttle service to town. It was WONDERFUL! The guys were nice and polite, they took us where we wanted to go, and even though it was a holiday weekend we never had to wait more than 10 min. for the shuttle. A great perk. The restaurant on this property is another story. Nothing good to say. Food way over priced and terrible. I would have a pizza delivered before ordering from room service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    185
    56
    35
    21
See reviews for
215
132
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently stayed at the property and had a great time. The hotel is right on the beach and is one of the few in the area that has such a prime location. The room we had was a beachfront that had a kitchen and sitting area, along with a decent size balcony that had the beachfront view. The restaurant was also great, wonderful food with large windows that have expansive views of the beach. The only problem that we had was noise coming from a construction job next-door to the property. Not sure when this project is due to finish but one would likely find it less disruptive to wait and truly have a more relaxing stay. Overall the hotel has kept it's "old charm" throughout the years and is truly unique in both style and location.

Room Tip: If you are coming during this current pipeline construction, choose a room on the opposite size of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

You can't get closer to the beach than this hotel. We had three rooms, all of which were just feet from the sand and waves. The beach itself is wide and flat, although busy on the weekends with families, surfers, scuba divers, etc. The hotel staff is quite friendly and accommodating. The rooms themselves are fine -- not luxurious, but clean and comfortable. I was a little concerned about nighttime noise, but the room A/C completely covered it. All the rooms had patios with chairs and tables where we could enjoy a glass of wine and look out over the Pacific. The little shopping street near the hotel has funky surf shops but also a handful of good restaurants. We didn't use the hotel's pool, but it looked great. The restaurant has a great view but seemed overpriced for breakfast, so we skipped it. I'd definitely stay here again, and I'd recommend this hotel for family trips.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My booking was with eBookers. The confirmation voucher suggested we had a beach view room. When we got to the room 212 it was a room facing another room opposite and its roof.

At the desk I showed Steven the eBookers voucher which said;

"Garden Patio two queen beds 400sq ft and steps from the sand with private balcony or patio. Beachfront view two queen beds 400sq ft room, offering unobstructed ocean views from a".

Steven understood the confusion but was only able to offer an extra cost upgrade to a beach front room. I was not happy with this and after some discussion he offered a free breakfast voucher for both of us, but could not extend this for the second night of our stay.

He refused to offer free parking (worth $18 per night). He agreed to ask his manager if he could offer the second days breakfast too, but this was also later declined. Not a good start.

Were we misled by the eBookers room description? Possibly.

Did we get the type of room we booked? Possibly not.

Room 212 is advertised as a Garden patio room, but it looks out onto another facing room and rooftop. This room does not have a garden view from the balcony as advertised. Steven at the front desk told me that the hotel was full (Memorial Day weekend), and so could not move us to a better room without a cost upgrade - so not full then! This was at 4pm - so not a late check in either!

The bed in the room was too soft and I have some experience of California hotel beds.

Lesson – do not accept 212 it is NOT a Garden view room.

The buffet self serve breakfast is not worth $16 +. When we arrived the offering was looking very tired and we were not late into breakfast.

The scrambled eggs had solidified into a pale yellow rubbery mass, the bacon was fatty and undercooked and the sausages tasteless. There were no croissants despite the sign-age and we had to ask for them. Orange juice was not included in the price.

We did not bother the next day and had a wonderful breakfast at Barbarella a two blocks away.

In fact the restaurants on that street were all good. Its not worth dining at the hotel.

At sunset the bar service was very slow. How can two beers take 15 minutes to be brought 20 ft from the bar to our table? Slow! But a great view – best at the bar at sunset – we didn’t we sat outside

If you have a car, don’t bother with the undercover parking either. At $18 per night - is too expensive - this is not Los Angeles after all!

There is plenty of parking in the streets nearby even on Memorial Day and the holiday after.

The location of the hotel is great right on the beach and it’s a lovely beach. The hotel beach staff and friendly an efficient setting up an umbrella and beach chairs and a bbq if you want one at lunch or in the evening. You can bring a cook your own food. NOTE the rule is no liquor or glass bottles or smoking on the beach. Widely ignored.

We stayed on Memorial Day weekend ( 25th to 27th May 2014 so maybe not the cheapest rate compared to other weekends.

The pool and Jacuzzi were packed with children and the beach was very busy too which is probably to be expected on Memorial Day weekend. We loved the beach.

Try another hotel instead.

Room Tip: TA reviewers tell you to go for a beach view but these are said to be noisy if you want the window o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Of course the location is the best, right on the beach and a short walk to an eclectic variety of cafes and fine dining. I enjoy lunches by the pool..(fish tacos) cocktails at the happy hour bar ( good classic martinis ) where the sun sets, and delectable dinners, or small plates, in the shore front dining room. Casual beach resort chic, yet elegant.
Perfect for vacationers or us lucky locals to stroll down Aveneda de Playa, or the long sandy beach, for a romantic rendezvous. La Jolla Shores is a rare gem. Brenda Hill, travel writer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For 25 years my family and I have traveled to La Jolla shores. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the cleaning staff was quick and efficient. The pool is small and so is the jacuzzi, however, we did not come to this hotel for those things. We picked this hotel because it was literally on the beach and walking distance to dinning, (all price points and options available), shops, water activities, coffee, and wide open park and playground. The hotels offers daily beach set up with towels, chairs, and umbrellas. Eric helped us out daily with this set up and was more than gracious and polite. In fact all the young men in charge of this were helpful. The restaurant and bar overlook the ocean and sitting there in the morning and sunset offers a breath taking views. This is not a glamorous hotel, but the accommodations are more than comfortable, the location is perfect and the hotel staff from checking in to to service staff, and hospitality crew are friendly and helpful. We stayed in the garden view with 2 queen beds and it had a refrigerator and plenty of room for 4. The bathroom and sink area were separate, which is always helpful with people getting ready for the day. Ping pong in the courtyard was a fun daily activity too. If you are someone who just wants to be on the beach this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at the La Jolla Shores Hotel where I booked an oceanfront room. I was on the second floor and I could hear nearly every step that the people above me took. I could also hear the conversations of the people on either side of my room as all rooms have the ability to adjoin, so there is a door in between every rooms. In addition, at around 6 am every morning, a kayaking company begins it tours so the outdoors also get noisy. After two days I was absolutely exhausted and the hotel would not refund my money for the third night. The rooms are outdated and smell musty. I would not at all recommend this hotel. The beach and tennis club next door is a better value with a nicer property.

Room Tip: If you still decide to stay - avoid rooms near the pool (noisy) and try for the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TIG Global, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.