We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay on family trips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a great stay on family trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our favorite family place to stay, or place to stay with friends when traveling to La Jolla. Right on the beach with kayaking, diving, and distance-swimming-friendly tides. Good rookie-level surf, and lots of kids for your pre-teens and toddlers to meet at the beach. Probably not as good for true surfers or couple that want to say away from family-noise and action.

Room Tip: Partial view rooms have great views of the beach. Often a place for noisy functions, receptions, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    169
    54
    32
    19
See reviews for
204
121
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oakland, ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at hotel for conference. Beautiful setting right on the beach. Room was old, needs updating, service was just ok, same with cleaning. But the location! Didn't use the pool, but looked clean. I walked up to Caroline's cafe, for even nicer view and nice breakfast. Oh, you should be able to park on the street.for free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I am very familiar with San Diego (used to live in the area) and have driven by this hotel many times over the years, but never stayed before. I recently returned to the area for business and decided to stay because of the location right on the sand (a surprisingly hard thing to find in San Diego). I went into it knowing the hotel was older, but honestly, I was surprised at the lack of updating and attention to detail. The first room checked into was on the first floor and it had two queen beds. Though it had an ocean view, I asked to be moved because it was so darn depressing. The front desk agent was very nice and helpful. The next room was better, as it was on a higher floor with a kitchenette. However, it was odd that the carpeting had absolutely no padding underneath (literally, carpeting put over the top of the concrete floor and very uncomfortable in bare feet). There must be very little insulation due to the hotel's age because you can hear every little sound - from noisy kids in the pool, to loud voices, to roller bags being pulled over the saltillo outside. The last night of the stay, I paid extra to move to a suite on the 3rd floor. The high ceiling and the views from the wrap around deck were great. This is the only room I would stay in if I were to return again (which I probably wouldn't), but there were still issues with peeling wallpaper, outdated furnishings, etc.. I understand that they don't update this property because they don't have to. People will pay the higher than average rates just to stay on the sand. I can also see how parts of this property might be charming to some people. The room service meal was mixed with the pizza being just awful, but the salad and dessert being good. The bed was comfortable and I did like hearing the sound of the ocean after the other loud noises stopped. Parking can be a challenge unless you pay extra to park in the garage. There is so much more they could do with this hotel if the owners took more pride in it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is not the cheapest of hotels.. You pay for the fact it is right on the beach. It is dated too with a small pool full of noisy kids and lots of bird poo everywhere. Despite written requests with how many were sharing the room (2 adults & 2 older kids), the room we were given only had one double bed so we had to move. Yes, we were right on the beach but boy what a busy beach it is! Huge noisy machinery rolls on it at 3am to clean it for a couple of hours then by 6am all the surfing and kayak clubs are setting up! Good service on the beach as young students eager to set you up with chairs etc. Housekeeping could be better.. There were crackers under our bed on arrival and still there 5 days later!!!. It does have a certain charm and our room had a shrub near the door which attracted the most exquisite hummingbirds, but I wouldn't stay there again as it is overpriced for what it is.. There are cheaper and nicer places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Location is everything at La Jolla Beach. This hotel was nice and we had a great time. The third floor beach view room was great. They set up chairs and umbrellas for you to sit in the sand. Facilities were clean and staff was great. A couple of ping pong tables were used by the kids quite a bit. Food was very good but a little pricey.
Overall, this hotel was a good value. Rooms are a little aged but it is a beach hotel not a fancy resort. Everyone is casual and laid back. We would go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. Yes, the property has been around the block a few times, but we felt the staff and other services made our stay one of our best beach vacations. We were less then 20 yards from the beach where they offer great beach service such as beach chairs, umbrellas and even a beach BBQ if requested. The view from both inside and outside the restuarant and lounge is beautful and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My family and I just got back from a stay at La Jolla. This hotel can definitely use a makeover but to stay at a hotel on the beach in La Jolla, for this price, with this kind of customer service, I can over look the older decor. We were able to walk to great restaurants, a sundries store, rent kayaks, swim with sharks and seals, play at the park, and hang out on the beach (where the hotel sets up your chairs, towels and umbrella). So yes, be prepared, the hotel itself could be prettier, but everything else was stellar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.