We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Right on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Right on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first stay here. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try it out. You will not be disappointed. The hotel is right on the beach. About 10 steps and you are on the sand. The family in the room next to us had asked if we heard their little one crying the evening before, but we did not hear a thing! Very quiet and clean property. The few issues that we had were taken care of right away - the air conditioner would not turn on (it got warm in the afternoon). Maintenance was up within 5 minutes to fix. We rented Room 336, third floor ocean view with kitchenette. We sat on our balcony most of our visit...we did venture to the beach a couple of times, but the view from the third floor was wonderful.

A large Vons grocery is a short 5 minute drive away. All the restaurants we tried 1/2 block away were wonderful. There is a small grocery also 1/2 block away, with just about everything you could need from diapers to peanut butter to sunscreen, to beach toys. Parking downstairs was easy in and easy out. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our most favorite thing: location location location! Our least favorite thing? That we had to leave this wonderful spot!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with an ocean view. It is great fun to watch the dolphins and seals swim by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    170
    54
    32
    20
See reviews for
205
121
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We return to the La Jolla Shores Hotel every summer (over 20) for a week at the beach and this year was best one ever. We like the coastal view rooms with a kitchen. The kitchen was recently remodeled and improved. The staff is friendly and responsive. We love the beach. If only other guest would observed the "smoke free hotel" rules it would be perfect. Twice I had to complain because some one was smoking on the balcony and the smoke was coming in our room. Not the hotels fault however. It is a great place for kids and we hope to bring our granddaughter with us next time.

Room Tip: Garden rooms on the south east side are quiet. Coastal rooms have a great view. Wish I could affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A reunion of 8 old high school friends was all the more fun at this great resort hotel. It is right on the beach where umbrellas and chairs are provided. The restaurant is superb and the staff is top notch. Always smiling and willing to help in any way. The location is great. Many excellent restaurants within walking distance and the hotel has a van to take guests to town for more shopping and eating. Great place for families too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Words can't describe how wonderful the hotel and vacation was. I have no complaints. Service/Food/Location...all was fantastic! Great hotel for a family vacation. And La Jolla Shores offers options for all ages. WILL be returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of a California road trip. Arrived after a 24hr trip 3hr drive/2 flights/3hr drive really stressed out and tired. Next morning felt totally relaxed, clean room with large balcony with coastal view (side on to the beach), well maintained hotel, great staff and a location right on the beach... That means no road between. The chilled out quiet feeling was spoiled by noise from the pool on occasion but the pool was closed at 10pm at which time everything went quiet.
There are several restaurants and shops around the corner of the block so no need to drive if you want a glass of wine. La Jolla is about a mile away which we walked a few times although the hotel does have a shuttle bus.
In summary we really enjoyed our stay and hope for this standard on the ret of our trip.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Pretty disappointed. Gnats and other small flying critters'll invade your room if you leave your door open for a few seconds. Staff wrote it off as "summer." Thanks for that. How about just doing something about the insects around the outside of the rooms? The rooms are just tired. It seems like this place was an old-school motor inn/lodge at some point, and they tried to turn it into a small beachfront resort. Greeted with that kind of mildewy smell announcing yesteryear's glory. Wood panel walls, worn carpeting, old bathrooms. They do have DVD players and smallish mounted flatscreens so all is not lost in the 60s. This could be a great place if the ownership invested some more. Not what we expected for La Jolla.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at the Shores in the deluxe beach front king. It had a full galley style kitchen which worked great for preparing meals. We were able to crank out b/L/d easier than at home. Could have used a couple more bar stools though. Had a great private deck to watch sunsets and get away from the kids a night while they watched movies, (they had two tv's with dvd players).
They had guys on the beach to give us chairs, towels, and umbrellas. Don't forget to bring a little cash to tip these guys. The pool was warm and hot tub hot. They also had a little one foot deep separate pool for the very small ones.
Underground parking is a must with elevators all the way to the third floor.
The restaurant was a little too foo foo for family's. The cleaning service was great and thoughtful. One more thing, put two plush room chairs together to make a perfect toddler bed. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.