We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Worth it for a beach vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
usa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location. Worth it for a beach vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard rooms and facility but nice pool and great beach access. Great family place

We did not try the restaurant. Limited dining options nearby but great little neighborhood. If u don't want to pay $9 for a little bowl of instant cream of wheat in the restaurant I would recommend going to the sandwich shop up on the corner of la jolla shores drive and ave de la playa for good breakfast sandwiches

Worth the expense to stay here
Great beginner beach for surfing

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    162
    52
    29
    19
See reviews for
196
113
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been coming here for over 20 years. This hotel is the place to stay if you want simple accommodations steps away from a great beach. What you are paying for here is the great location, not luxurious accommodations. The staff and services are helpful and very friendly. Beach services provide set up of sand chairs, umbrellas and towels on the beach. Please tip these guys who are out in the sun all day! We bring our own more comfortable chairs, but we still use the sand chairs. We have stayed in many different rooms- courtyard, beach view, coastal view and love them all. They are simple and comfortable. However, it is time for the courtyard rooms to be refurbished as the other rooms have been. Since we are on the beach all day it really doesn't seem worth the extra $60 a day for a beach view room. We would rather spend the money in the bar or restaurant. Happy Hour is great and the food and drinks delicious and a good value. Have as many meals as you can on the patio. The service is better on the patio than in the dining room for dinner. We did not have a good experience in the Shores Restaurant dining room for dinner.
It's great to have a small refrigerator in the room. The hotel is also a block away from several really good restaurants- Piatti is our favorite. Get amazing sandwiches at the Cheese Shop to take to the beach- but beware of the seagulls, as they will snatch a sandwich from your hands!
Be sure to rent a kayak or do a kayak tour. It is well worth the time and is very fun.
We will be back again next June!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have vaulted ceilings. Courtyard rooms have not been updated as other rooms have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surprise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It is an older hotel, but very clean and nice having such close access to beach! Staff was amazing! Very Nice restaurants within walking distance. It was nice having the umbrella, chair and towel service at beach side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights during the week. The location right on the beach can't be beat! We arrived late afternoon and ate an early dinner. Spent sunset playing at the beach with the kids and having a nice walk down the shore. Pros: amenities like ping pong tables, beach chairs, towels, umbrellas. DVD selection good but not much for families. Good restaurants nearby- we enjoyed Piatti. The beds are comfortable and the shower water pressure is good. Cons: dirty carpets in room, connecting door right by side of bed so noisy neighbors kept us up. Also, the balcony can be a negative if noisy neighbors occupy the one next to yours. Even with the cons, we'd probably return for off season rates, but not again for high season price and crowds.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As a busy executive assistant, I truly depend on hotel staff to ensure requests are met since I am not able to be there physically to double-check. Unfortunately, both requests (which took me time to fill out hotel paperwork, scan, and email back, twice) did not happen. I had assured our guest that the room was on us and that there would be a nice bottle of wine and snack basket for her upon arrival since she would be there for a while before dinner. It was quiet embarrasing to find out, not from the hotel but from our guest, that nothing was ever set up in her room and that they insisted on having her CC to swipe upon departure. She didn't want to cause a fuss so she just gave them her card. Disappointing to say the least. Front desk manager apologized once i called. Although he said they would make it up to me if I tried them again, offering something today ie: lunch, snack basket etc...to woo me back would have been a nice gesture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is amazing, expecially for weddings. We had a wonderful experience with Jennifer Nesovic, of LJSH: She helped in every way! She honored what our original contract said and was very helpful. The staff was friendly and prompt in responding to requests. Our wedding guests raved about the location and the wedding itself. The food was especially out of this world!

Room Tip: PIick an ocean view room and ask for one on the top floor; it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Thank you for making our first visit to San Diego perfect! We stayed 5 nights and the staff was wonderful. The shuttle around La Jolla was a big benefit to us. It allowed us to see so much of La Jolla and the drivers were very friendly. The shuttle was always available in a timely manner. The room was clean and the bed was supper comfortable. The jacuzzi closed and 10 pm and we would have liked to see it open a bit longer. We wanted to relax after our full days of hiking, surfing, and sight seeing activities. The location of the hotel was so convenient to all the fun stuff in the area. We will be returning for another vacation. We can't wait to see you again!

Room Tip: Did not use spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.