We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doom in June Couples Getaway/Still well worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Golden, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
“Doom in June Couples Getaway/Still well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lovely Beach Front rooms. I don't recommend eating on site. Staff at the LJ Sores were amazing! June only gets 2-4 hrs a day of really beach sunshine. But le's face it, sometimes a vacation is a vacation even if the weather is a bit cool.

Room Tip: Be sure you are not by the poolside elevator. Too much noise. I wouldn't book another "Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    169
    54
    32
    19
See reviews for
204
121
17
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel, it was almost unreal. The staff were excellent. They were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. The location was great. There were a few good restaurants within a short 2-block walk and some great dining within a few miles in downtown La Jolla. There was a free shuttle that took us out to eat and to the children's cove where you can see some seals. I recommend making use of the shuttle because parking can be hard to find in these popular spots. The room was clean and comfortable. And the best part of all is it was right on the beach. You walk out your front door, pass the pool, and you're on the beach. It was also next to a park with a playground, which was great for our young kids. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the beach and we used it all the time. It was great watching the sunset over the ocean every night. Some other good points were free WiFi and you can rent DVDs from the front desk, which comes in handy if you just want to have a relaxing night in or if it rains. The only negative about the hotel was that the pool was pretty cold even though it was supposed to be heated. We still went swimming anyway, but it was just colder than expected. Also, our room was near the restaurant and there was a live band that played one night. We could hear it in our room. Didn't bother us because it was good music, but some people might not like that. Overall, it was a great experience and we plan on coming back next year.

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Three generations of our family met here for a short getaway. We (four of us) stayed in a poolside 1st floor room with two double beds. The room was comfortable and clean although outdated (as others have mentioned). For the price, I can overlook outdated. I read reviews about the poolside rooms being loud but we did not have that problem even though our glass door opened up right to the pool. My young children were able to go to bed at a decent hour and nap during the day without disruption, even though there were people out at the pool the entire time. The customer service was spectacular as the front desk people were always available and willing to go out of their way to help. The moderately good food at the restaurant was on the expensive side. The service at the restaurant was exceptional but the poolside service was slow. You can always run in and grab your own drinks though. The price of drinks at the bar were worth the view at least once. The location is wonderful, besides being on the beach it is in La Jolla Shores which is less commercial than the village or cove areas. This is a family friendly hotel with staff that want to make your experience wonderful. La Jolla Shores is family friendly, right on the beach, customer oriented, clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I visited San Diego recently and spent two nights at the La Jolla Shores Hotel. We had a beachfront room and the view was fabulous! The room was spacious with modern decor, and very comfortable. There was a large closet, private bath area and good counter space at the sink. The private bath area was a bit small and the shower heads were too low for us tall people, but that is a minor issue and we both still duck pretty well.
Having never visited La Jolla before we had lots of questions for the staff, they were all very welcoming and friendly. We arrived late and had a late dinner in the lounge area. Our waitress was also the bartender and she handled all the customers with cheerful good humor. She was a delight to talk to (I think her name was Brittany, sorry if that's wrong).
La Jolla itself was a pleasant surprise, a combination of surfer relaxed and upscale style. The landscape is all cliffs and rocks and coast. Great walking on the beach and a hiker friendly cliff walk to the Children's Pool. I would love to go back again when the water is a bit warmer. End of May is still too cold for ocean swimming for me. You can look around La Jolla and see where Dr. Seuss got some of his inspiration for his illustrations, it is a bit magical.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family spent a few days and loved it. Though the room decor is a little outdated, the hotel is overall just right. It's unpretentious. Great staff. Very clean. Loved the pool area and the restaurant - with its amazing ocean view. Loved the ocean view from our room. Strongly recommend a 3rd floor room with an ocean view and kitchenette. Our kitchenette was brand new. Very cute. The room was spacious and comfortable with high ceilings. I believe only the 3rd floor rooms have high ceilings. Well worth trying to get this type of room - because it is so much nicer than rooms I saw on lower floors - and seemed to be the same rate.

Room Tip: choose a 3rd floor room with high ceiling, ocean view and kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corona del mar, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is older-don't expect luxe accomodations, but it was clean and all items were in working condition. Our mini fridge seemed on the not so cold side and they brought us a larger one within 10 minutes. The staff here is excellent. Kevin C. brought out beach chairs, towels and umbrellas every day for our group of 10-he setup and took them down at end of day. We tipped him well as he is a hard worker and deserved it! On Saturday night we requested BBQ grill and table and chairs on the beach and again, all done with no hassles. Our room was beachfront, double queen. Facing the beach on the first floor, but there was a iron gate around property so you could not walk straight out from room- you did have to go through hotel corridors to get to beach, but not really a big deal. The hotel has parking for 16 a day and it is very convenient. Pool is on the small side but worked fine for the kids. Pool service as phenomenal. They did have some days where food took a while to be served ( due to so many people) so plan accordingly. Outdoor ping pong tables entertained as well. One block away is surfboard rentals, a few restaurants, a grocery store, ATM and kayak excursion tours. The La Jolla Cheese SHop, one block away, has PB and J sandwiches for kids and there deli sandwiches were fantastic. Adjacent to hotel and right on boardwalk is a great playground structure for the younger kids. Lots of green space for soccer, games etc. as well. Hotel restaurant is not cheap but happy hour and the great view make it worth the price. We strolled down boardwalk one morning to Caroline's for breakfast, beautiful view and inexpensive. Very family friendly hotel, kids cannot wait to return. If you want to check out downtown La Jolla it is best to have a car. One caveat (not a hotel issue) it was COLD while we were there and all of the kids needed wetsuits for ocean swimming! Great hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 334 has the best views, but next time I would get a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We just spent three nights at the La Jolla Shores hotel over Memorial Day. The location is ideal. Literally in the beach, next to the park, in walking distance to restaurants and close to the Village of La Jolla with plenty of additional places to dine and shop. The hotel itself is a little dated but what they lack they make up for in service, cleanliness and location. We traveled with two kids and the room (two queen beds, coastline view) was perfectly fine. The room (#132) was on the first floor and got a little noisy as it was right on the pool and to next to the restaurant but we did not mind. In the morning we were able to go out onto our large balcony and watch the surfers and paddle boarders. It was really a great California beach town experience. The pool is adequate and they have a hot tub as well. They will gladly set up chairs and umbrellas on the beach for you which is a great amenity. Overall we really enjoyed our experience, it was a but crowded over the holiday weekend but guests who are regulars told us that off season it is a quiet spot. Overall we very much enjoyed out trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TIG Global, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.