We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best part of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We flew into Orange County so the children could go to Disney. The hotel in Anaheim Best Western Raffles was horrible. Then we drove to La Jolla and stayed at La Jolla Shores. I was nervous as the internet pictures did not do it justice. We are a party of eight, so finding a hotel on the beach, at a price we could live with took over a week! We were amazed at the hospitality of all of the staff, including the groudskeepers. The balconies are huge and even though we settled on the garden view room we still had a oceanview and fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean crashing on the beach. The beds were very comfortable and we are very hard to please! This hotel and their staff are worth a 5 star rating!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    158
    52
    29
    19
See reviews for
189
111
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the second trip here with my family. We love the location and the nearby restaurants. The beach is clean and staff provide chairs, towels and umbrellas . The roll away for my Son was ready when we arrived. Ocean front room was a surprise upgrade that made it even better. The grounds are well maintained and always clean. The room was comfortable and fresh. My only complaint is a slightly musty odor. Easily remedied by opening the door to the small balcony. We will go there again.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are worth the cost. The rooms facing the courtyard are also nice but nothing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is the third time that I accompany my husband on business here. Although the rooms seem a bit dated, I don't spend very much time in them as the weather is usually lovely. The location is ideal for walking on the long beach with spectacular views. Many very fine restaurants are within a couple of blocks. The hotel restaurant is quite good. A trip into city-center LaJolla is a 5 minute drive away. Lots of good restaurants and shops there. As well as a contemporary art museum on the ocean. The hotel is picture perfect for sunsets as well. I think this is a great location with easy access to all area activities.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed three nights with our 7 month old. Room ready with crib. Breakfast awesome. Beach set up nice and pool relaxing. Great local to some great food and little shops. Very pretty area. Rooms a little dated but had an old world charm that I liked. It was like staying at a villa over seas. Staff helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for view of court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is one of very few hotels directly on the beach. The accommodations were of excellent quality - I would compare it to a JW or Renaissance Marriott in quality. It was slightly above standard Marriott hotels. If you ask at the front desk, they provide a free shuttle service into the village each evening which was an added plus. I've heard others mention there were no bech chairs out front, but you only need to ask for a loaner.

The only drawback to the hotel was that one side joins the public beach ramp where boats are launched. This made things a little hectic from time to time. I had the room on the very end adjoining the access road - it wasn't noisy, but I didn't feel overly secure being on the first floor on that end.

The beachfront rooms were truly beachfront - no partial views. The partial view rooms were on the side of the hotel and set at an angle to the bech. Other room types would have no view of the ocean. However, the internal courtyard was lush and beautiful.

I would not hesitate tonstay here again. The best rates are available directly from the hotel website - I searched for weeks and never found anything less. In fact, the popular discount sites had rates that were actually higher.

We did not eat in the restaurant - breakfast prices were very high at around fifteen dollars a person. There aren't many options nearby, so be sure to take something if you do not want to pay those prices.

Room Tip: Go for beacfront, full ocean view. Request something on the second or third floor that isn't on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I read some reviews of people complaining about this place, but we thought it was beautiful! Perfect location! Right on the beach! The hotel itself isn't 5 star but its really nice! Beautiful little courtyard/pool area overlooking ocean. Rooms were nice..not luxury but still very comfortable and clean! We had partial ocean view but really seemed like a full one! Bathroom was a decent size closet space. The restraunt at the hotel was nice and food was great. Bar has Amazing views! Front desk was nice and helpful! Had a bell hop to help with luggage. Great places near by to eat and things to do! Highly recommend this place and hope to return someday! Hopefully sunny though lol!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is a gem. Right on the ocean and so close to the restaurants and shops of La Jolla. The staff is extremely helpful. We worked with a young man named Will and he was outstanding. We loved our room that faced the ocean. The beds are so comfortable. The pool area was very nice too. Decent sized pool and hot tub, comfortable chairs, towel service.

I highly recommend La Jolla Shores - great hotel, beautiful location!

Room Tip: We were in Room 144 - at the end, very quiet, facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.