We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Jolla Shores Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Jolla Shores Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Jolla Shores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a great stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a much better time here than we thought we would on initial impression. As mentioned by others, this hotel does have a somewhat dated appearance. But surfaces were freshly painted, it was clean, and our room was very comfortable. We had a coastal view with kitchenette on the top floor, which I would recommend. The high-floor rooms have vaulted ceilings that make them feel more spacious. Our balcony overlooked the beach park next door, with nice views of the shoreline looking up the coast. This park is very popular with the locals, and we loved being able to people-watch. It's kept very clean, has a lovely green lawn, beautiful palm trees & landscaping, and playscapes for the kiddos.
Our favorite thing was the location, in the middle of a nice residential area, easy walking distance to shops & restaurants, and just down the beach from the Scripps Marine Institute. Great spot for walking. My husband could pop out the door & be surfing in 5 minutes. There are surf shops nearby for help & equipment, and lots of locals surfing here. The Birch Aquarium was about a 10-minute drive at best, and a jaunt over to downtown La Jolla about the same. Parking is below the hotel, very convenient and reasonable cost. We found it super easy to get to & from LJS when we were sightseeing the area.
Things we loved: good size fridge, microwave, nice toiletries, Starbucks coffee in the room, comfy mattress & bedding, convenient parking, friendly staff, Marine Room restaurant (old-Hollywood vibe, very pricey but worth it), roomy balcony, good reading chair w/ ottoman & lamp, and just the fact that this is not a huge place. It's very easy to access everything via multiple stairways and you feel at home and a part of the neighborhood.
If you're looking for super luxury this is not the place. We happened to follow this stay with several days at one of the most luxurious resorts in southern California. I preferred La Jolla Shores! We will almost certainly return; we loved La Jolla.
One fun place to visit if you appreciate Arts & Crafts architecture: The Lodge at Torrey Pines. We had drinks in both bars & enjoyed seeing it and then following with a visit to Torrey Pines State Reserve down the road.

Room Tip: If you like people-watching you'll like the coastal-view rooms. High floors have vaulted ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    159
    52
    29
    19
See reviews for
193
112
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

If your idea of a nice Coastal View includes looking at junky cars parked alongside the hotel, then this place is for you! The only way to actually see the coastal view was to lean far over the patio railing. Not what we had in mind. The two adjoining rooms we were promised didn't adjoin after all. So we were shown several other room options; Beachfront Room with Kitchenette, 2 adjoining Patio View rooms, and another set of adjoining rooms with a lovely view of the parking lot. And not one single room we were shown looked even remotely like the photos on the website! The furniture was junky and the carpets were dirty. Some rooms smelled of mildew. Bedding was really old and out of date. We were lucky enough that Expedia got us a refund on the two rooms and set us up with a lovely hotel with a spectacular view. We were very disappointed that we even wasted our time looking at the La Jolla Shores Hotel!

Room Tip: Stay Someplace Else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for a couple of nights over spring break. We had a very good time, with just a couple of hiccups.

First the good:

-Great location. Our room was at ground level and looked directly out to the beach. Wonderful.
-Clean room. Ours was a bit dated, and not super luxurious or huge, but clean. The beds were fantastic. Great linens and very comfortable mattresses.
-Very professional and helpful front desk.
-Decent pool area, and a fun interior courtyard with ping-pong tables.
-Great restaurant. Not cheap, but not terriby expensive either. The food was definitely a step above most hotel restaurants. And again, you can't beat the view!
-Very nice beach. The hotel has its own strip of beach right on the cove. On the south end it's a short walk to cliffs and caves, with some great tide pools at low tide. On the north it's probably about 1/2 mile to the UCSD Scripps Research campus, which has a great lunch restaurant on the cliff above overlooking a great surfing break. Steps lead from the beach, and you can show up sandy and wet and plop down on a great outdoor patio.

The not-so-great:

-Our room was in pretty good shape, but there were some signs of age, and minor upkeep issues like mildewed grout in the tub/shower area. The tiled hallway right outside our room had a mysterious red stain the entire length of our stay, our kids kept asking if it was blood!
-The pool area always seemed dirty. There were lots of used towels everywhere, including on all of the furniture, so you never knew what was really being used, or could find a place to sit.
-The beach is right next to the area where all of the local kayak tour outfits operate, so there were always lots of people milling around as tours start, and trucks loading and unloading gear.
-There was supposedly food and beverage service available at both the pool area and beach, but we never saw anyone. A few people resorted to walking into the restaurant and bringing drinks back to the pool, but that was about it.
-There was also supposed to be beach services staff available, but it took a call to the front desk, and then a physical trip there to get someone to come down. The sister property to the south had rows upon rows of beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas, but we were lucky to get just a handfull delivered after a lot of prompting.
-There is a small nearby retail district, with shops and restaurants, but for the most part everything seemed very high priced, and the restaurants weren't very family friendly. I'd recommend sticking to the hotel restaurant unless you're willing to drive.
-There's a nice underground parking garage, but the daily charge seemed a bit high.

These concerns aside, we really did have a good time here, and would return. It would take just a little more attention to detail to move this property from the good to the great category.

Room Tip: Ask for a double Queen room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is a bit dated. However, the rooms are clean and the area is spectacular! When you walk out of the hotel, you literally walk onto the boardwalk which borders the sandy beach. The location of the hotel is in a city called La Jolla Shores. This city is a subset of La Jolla (20 minutes away by foot). The beach at La Jolla Shores is much much much nicer than that in La Jolla. Most of the beach in La Jolla is rocky, unlike the beach at La Jolla Shores which is all sand. There is a little town one block away from this hotel. The little town consists of one block of 6 restaurants, a convenience store, a yogurt shop and many kayak rental stores. The town is otherwise a nice, quiet residential area. If you choose a room with a beach view, you will get an amazing beach view with absolutely no obstructions. The staff at the hotel is incredibly nice. The pool is small/medium and it is heated. The restaurant is excellent, and will accommodate vegetarians. If you have small kids, there is a playground across the street from the hotel (the playground is right on the beach!!!!). If you are looking for a high-end hotel with high-end amenities, this is not the right hotel for you. However, if you are looking for a nice hotel with exceptional staff and incredible proximity to the ocean and many activities available, then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Pool side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but given it's location right on the shore, you won't spend much time in your room anyway. A very average hotel, but a nice handy bar a few steps from the ocean where you can walk day and night and watch the beautiful sunsets. In the morning walk north along the shore and have breakfast overlooking the ocean at Caroline's Cafe near the pier.

Room Tip: Obviously, try and get a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Less than 60 seconds from your room to one of the nicest beaches on the west coast, enough said...
Other than the location, I simply cannot get into all the positive aspects of this resort because then this review would be longer than The Bible!
As all the other reviews reflect, this is an outstanding resort the like of which cannot be rivaled, by any hotel, in any price range, anywhere in San Diego or even California for that matter.
I once stayed there for seven consecutive nights and did not move my car from the (Free) parking garage once; just due to the overwhelming amount of amenities, shopping, dinning, and excursions that are all within walking distance from this resort!

Stay here once and I am almost guaranteeing it will become an annual tradition for you and your family to return here.

Respectfully

-David

Room Tip: Each and every room will make for a perfect vacation stay. (Side note: The picture with this review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overnight stay for UCSD visit.
Wished I had more time to enjoy La Jolla and this stay.
Great front desk staff (I messed up my reservation and they fixed it).
Bed was great, had a good night sleep which is so difficult while travelling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jolla Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jolla Shores Hotel

Address: 8110 Camino del Oro, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037 (Formerly Sea Lodge Hotel)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jolla Shores Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TIG Global, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Jolla Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jolla Shores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.